Jail Exchange, Every Jail, Every Prison, Every Facility in the Country
Android app on Google Play
NAV
Skip Navigation LinksCounty Jails > California > Orange > Orange County Juvenile Hall

+Straight Up Answers

What is an Inmate Money or Commissary Account?

Most jails and prisons in America allow friends and family members of inmates to make deposits to inmate money accounts. They are set up to give the inmate access to various services including commissary purchases and phone use. Some facilities deduct nominal amounts from these accounts for inmate health visits and other jail fees. Commissary […]

Drastically Reduce the Cost of Calls from Your Out of State Inmate

Most facilities contract with a third-party company so you can fund prepaid calls, but if those calls are long distance, it can become cost-prohibitive. Luckily there is a way to pay local call rates for long-distance calls on a prepaid service. First, Do Some Very Basic Research Find out the area code for the jail […]

Get a Special Visit If You Live Far From the Jail

The logistics of visiting an inmate who is incarcerated very far from where you live can be tricky. If the jail has very short visits or requires a specific visitation registration processes, it makes it even more difficult. Some jails make exceptions for those who must travel to visit the inmate. How Far is Far? […]

Parental Visitation: Know the keys to Helping Your Child Visit Their Parent in Jail

Children typically desire contact with their parents, even if a parent is incarcerated, so learn the ropes to keep the connection going: Keep it Simple Depending on the age of the child, you can explain without going into too much detail, why the parent is in jail. Preschool to elementary kids – Let them know […]

How Does a Bail Bond Process Work?

Many states allow defendants to be released from jail to wait for court by paying a percentage of the total bond amount. Percentages range from 10 to 20 percent depending on state law. Understand how the process works to help someone who's been arrested. What is a Bond? A bond is an amount of money […]

Can I Visit an Inmate if I am on Probation or Parole?

A friend or family member has been arrested and this has created chaos and stress. Before you race off to visit him or her in jail, if you are on probation or parole you need to take the following steps. Find out the Rules Some jails will not allow anyone on probation or parole to […]

What Does a 15 Years to Life Sentence Mean?

A sentence of 15 years to life, 25 years to life or similar sounding words all mean the same thing. The only difference is the time frame. What the Number Means The number in the sentence indicates the minimum number of years the inmate must serve before he or she can be considered for parole. […]

Consequences of Providing Contraband to an Inmate

It is never a good idea to mail contraband to an inmate or to bring it on a visit. The consequences for such actions are serious not only for the inmate, but also for you. What is Contraband? Contraband is anything that inmates are not allowed to have in their possession. Obvious examples are weapons, […]

Voting Rights for Felons in Alabama

The state of Alabama allows felons to have their voting rights restored under the following guidelines. You must have completed your entire sentence, including incarceration, probation, and parole, or community supervision. Once completed, you have three options: Contact your local parole or probation office Write to the Board of Pardons and Parole

Maine Marijuana Laws: Decriminalized but Still Tricky

Decriminalizing Pot doesn't always mean it is completely legal. Here are some current guidelines. Possession Unlike several other states that chose an ounce as the cutoff for a civil penalty, Maine allows you to possess up to 2.5 ounces and still receive a civil ticket. The fine is a flat $600 regardless of the amount. […]

4 Good Places to Find Prison Pen Pals

Learn About Them Through friends. If you know someone who is incarcerated or has a family member incarcerated, ask for the name of an inmate who might like having a pen pal. This is an excellent way to meet pen pals because they can give a personal recommendation. Use Pen Pal Sites. There are several […]

Can a Felon Possess a Gun In Georgia?

Georgia law is very clear on its position regarding convicted felons in that state owning or possessing firearms: It follows the federal law when it comes to guns and felons. The Basics: With the exception of a felony conviction that is non-violent and related exclusively to a business-related crime, if you have ever been convicted […]

Getting a Felon's Voting Rights Restored in Massachusetts

Voting is one of the most fundamental rights given to American citizens, but that right can be lost if you're a convicted felon. It's up to the each state to decide their laws about restoring rights. The laws for Massachusetts include: If You're Charged If you've been charged with a crime, but have not yet […]

Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

Decriminalizing Marijuana doesn't always mean it is completely legal. In some cases, such as in Massachusetts, possession of less than an ounce is no longer a crime but is now a civil offense. Possession It is a civil offense to possess one ounce or less of Marijuana. If found guilty the fine is $100. In […]

Can a Felon Own a Gun In New Mexico?

Generally speaking, federal law makes it a crime for a convicted felon to own or possess a gun or ammunition. If you were convicted of a federal felony crime, you must receive a presidential pardon if you are to ever own a firearm again. Some states, however, have specifically designed laws regarding felons convicted of […]

Hundreds more 'Straight Up Answers'...

Orange County Juvenile Hall

Orange County Detention / Probation

STATE COUNTY BEDS
California Orange 380
PHYSICAL ADDRESS
331 The City Drive South
Orange, CA 92868
FAX
714-935-7581
Visiting hours: Visiting hours at Juvenile Hall are conducted for minors based on the first letter of their last names. A B C - Sunday, 1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.... D E F G H - Tuesday, 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.... I J K L M - Thursday, 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.... N O P Q R - Friday, 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.... S T U V W X Y Z - Saturday, 1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
 

What is an Inmate Money or Commissary Account?

Most jails and prisons in America allow friends and family members of inmates to make deposits to inmate money accounts. They are set up to give the inmate access to various services including commissary purchases and phone use. Some facilities deduct nominal amounts from these accounts for inmate health visits and other jail fees. Commissary […]

Drastically Reduce the Cost of Calls from Your Out of State Inmate

Most facilities contract with a third-party company so you can fund prepaid calls, but if those calls are long distance, it can become cost-prohibitive. Luckily there is a way to pay local call rates for long-distance calls on a prepaid service. First, Do Some Very Basic Research Find out the area code for the jail […]

Get a Special Visit If You Live Far From the Jail

The logistics of visiting an inmate who is incarcerated very far from where you live can be tricky. If the jail has very short visits or requires a specific visitation registration processes, it makes it even more difficult. Some jails make exceptions for those who must travel to visit the inmate. How Far is Far? […]

Parental Visitation: Know the keys to Helping Your Child Visit Their Parent in Jail

Children typically desire contact with their parents, even if a parent is incarcerated, so learn the ropes to keep the connection going: Keep it Simple Depending on the age of the child, you can explain without going into too much detail, why the parent is in jail. Preschool to elementary kids – Let them know […]

How Does a Bail Bond Process Work?

Many states allow defendants to be released from jail to wait for court by paying a percentage of the total bond amount. Percentages range from 10 to 20 percent depending on state law. Understand how the process works to help someone who's been arrested. What is a Bond? A bond is an amount of money […]

Can I Visit an Inmate if I am on Probation or Parole?

A friend or family member has been arrested and this has created chaos and stress. Before you race off to visit him or her in jail, if you are on probation or parole you need to take the following steps. Find out the Rules Some jails will not allow anyone on probation or parole to […]

What Does a 15 Years to Life Sentence Mean?

A sentence of 15 years to life, 25 years to life or similar sounding words all mean the same thing. The only difference is the time frame. What the Number Means The number in the sentence indicates the minimum number of years the inmate must serve before he or she can be considered for parole. […]

Consequences of Providing Contraband to an Inmate

It is never a good idea to mail contraband to an inmate or to bring it on a visit. The consequences for such actions are serious not only for the inmate, but also for you. What is Contraband? Contraband is anything that inmates are not allowed to have in their possession. Obvious examples are weapons, […]

Voting Rights for Felons in Alabama

The state of Alabama allows felons to have their voting rights restored under the following guidelines. You must have completed your entire sentence, including incarceration, probation, and parole, or community supervision. Once completed, you have three options: Contact your local parole or probation office Write to the Board of Pardons and Parole

Maine Marijuana Laws: Decriminalized but Still Tricky

Decriminalizing Pot doesn't always mean it is completely legal. Here are some current guidelines. Possession Unlike several other states that chose an ounce as the cutoff for a civil penalty, Maine allows you to possess up to 2.5 ounces and still receive a civil ticket. The fine is a flat $600 regardless of the amount. […]

4 Good Places to Find Prison Pen Pals

Learn About Them Through friends. If you know someone who is incarcerated or has a family member incarcerated, ask for the name of an inmate who might like having a pen pal. This is an excellent way to meet pen pals because they can give a personal recommendation. Use Pen Pal Sites. There are several […]

Can a Felon Possess a Gun In Georgia?

Georgia law is very clear on its position regarding convicted felons in that state owning or possessing firearms: It follows the federal law when it comes to guns and felons. The Basics: With the exception of a felony conviction that is non-violent and related exclusively to a business-related crime, if you have ever been convicted […]

Getting a Felon's Voting Rights Restored in Massachusetts

Voting is one of the most fundamental rights given to American citizens, but that right can be lost if you're a convicted felon. It's up to the each state to decide their laws about restoring rights. The laws for Massachusetts include: If You're Charged If you've been charged with a crime, but have not yet […]

Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

Decriminalizing Marijuana doesn't always mean it is completely legal. In some cases, such as in Massachusetts, possession of less than an ounce is no longer a crime but is now a civil offense. Possession It is a civil offense to possess one ounce or less of Marijuana. If found guilty the fine is $100. In […]

Can a Felon Own a Gun In New Mexico?

Generally speaking, federal law makes it a crime for a convicted felon to own or possess a gun or ammunition. If you were convicted of a federal felony crime, you must receive a presidential pardon if you are to ever own a firearm again. Some states, however, have specifically designed laws regarding felons convicted of […]

Hundreds more 'Straight Up Answers'...

Comment or Ask a Question.
No registration required.

Comments 3

  1. Krystin Craft Wed, Feb 02 2011 3:06 PM

    Am I able to contact or call my boyfriend who was recently booked into this facility?

  2. Jane Sun, Oct 06 2013 4:14 AM

    October 2013 Orange County California Juvenile Court Case I recently had to go to the Juvenile Court in Orange County California with my 16 year old son (15 at time of ticket) for a Minor in Possession of alcohol charge. Before going, I searched online to try to learn what was going to happen. All I found were attorney advertisements, but very little information about the reality of what was going to happen. I had questions like these: What exactly was going to happen at the juvenile court appearance in Orange County? Does my child need a lawyer? What will be the likely outcome? Is my child going to get convicted? Will my child lose his license (that he just got) for a year? This post states my experience and gives my opinion on the answers to this question. My child got charged with being in the car with alcohol, (not possessing alcohol . . . just being in the car when there was an unopened container in the driver’s backpack). This is one of the numerous different “Minor In Possession” (MIP) charges. The specific charge was a violation of Vehicle Code 23224 and a conviction mandates a driver’s license suspension of one year. In addition to my own kid’s case, I also watched about 15 other cases as my son’s case was the last one called that day. My son was ticketed and released by a Newport Beach PD Police Officer. Inconsequentially, the ticketing officer made two errors on the original ticket,: 1) stating that the crime was an infraction (it’s a misdemeanor); and 2) noting that the case would be heard at Harbor Justice Center (because he was a juvenile, it was moved to Lamaroeux [The City Drive in Orange]). These errors were corrected before court by notices mailed to our home before the originally assigned court date. The court appearance occurred in October of 2013 at 8:30 a.m. We waited until the last possible day to appear. We arrived at about 8:10 a.m. and went through the metal detectors. We went upstairs to the 2nd floor (take right at the top of the main staircase) and checked in at the clerk’s window by showing the clerk a copy of the ticket (plus correction notices) and giving the minor’s name. The clerk advised us that we were in “Group 1” and to have a seat in the waiting room. There were about 10 other minors with parents already waiting. We got the last two seat. Other people continued to check-in. Everyone who checked in before about 8:20 got put in Group 1. I’d recommend getting there early to try to get into the Group1 and even earlier if you want to sit for the 30 to 45 minute wait. At 9:00 a.m., a bailiff came in and called for Group 1. Everyone in Group 1 filed out and followed the bailiff to the courtroom. I felt sorry for Group 2 people. Who knows how long they had to wait? We entered a nice courtroom and sat in the gallery seating. There is a Spanish translator assigned to the courtroom who was already in there sitting at one of the counsel tables. All of the English speakers were seated on one side of the gallery and all of the Spanish speakers were seated on the other side. The Spanish speakers were handed out headsets to listen to the Spanish translation. The Judge took the bench and set out sound ground rules. I do not remember everything he said, but I was basically a rendition of the minor’s legal rights and an advisement that parents were welcome to participate but that the minor’s were in the Spanish speakers as the Judge talked. The Judge then began calling the cases individually. The Judge was a stern, no-nonsense African American fellow and he was demanded respect. If a minor answered “yeah,” or really anything other than “Yes, Sir” or “Yes, Your Honor,” the Judge reprimanded the minor for lack of respect and told the minor to sit back down. So, definitely dress nice, show respect and be on your very best behavior. The first kid to get called up got asked by the Judge if he wanted to waive his rights and discuss the case right then and there. The alternative was that the minor refuse to waive rights, essentially claiming to be “not guilty” and the Judge would have set a date for a juvenile trial. When the first kid got asked if he would waive his rights, he did not know what to do. This was a stressful situation to be in because the poor kid did not know what was going to happen if he waived his rights. Those of us not having to go first got to see what was going to happen and could use that information in making our decision. Ultimately everyone ended up agreeing to waive their rights and deal with their case that day. The first kid was charged with a MIP violation too. So, it was a good indicator of what was going to happen to my kid. The kid eventually agreed to waive his rights and speak to the Judge about his case. The Judge asked the kid some questions about the facts of the case and how he did in school. The Judge also asked what the kid’s curfew time was. The Judge asked if he drug tested the kid right now if the kid would test clean or dirty. After quizzing the kid, making sure he was not an evil brat, and reading him the riot act, the Judge basically had he kid admit to that there was probably cause against him, (without using that term) and then the Judge sentenced him right there. This scenario was repeated with all the cases. Basically, there were about three different outcomes for all of the cases: Most kids got sentenced to one 8 hour class and 15 hours of community service. If the kid was there on an infraction or a misdemeanor (such as a curfew violation, a MIP charge, a drug charge, an alcohol or drug consumption charge), then the Judge sentenced those kids to one 8 hour alcohol/drug class for minors and 15 hours of community service. The kids got two months to complete the class and the community service hours. If they submitted proof of completion, then the charge would be dismissed completely, meaning the kids would not have a conviction on their record. A few kids got sentenced to one Juvenile class (which was referred to as a “J” class) and 15 hours community service. (These kids may have also had to do the other alcohol class too, but I am not real sure on that.) The “J” class was for the kids that were in trouble for the 2nd time for something relatively minor (meaning curfew, alcohol or marijuana). There may have also been a few kids who got a few more hours of community service, but I honestly cannot recall exactly. There was one kid who had been in trouble 2 times before (both for marijuana). This kid told the Judge that he did not want to waive his rights and that he was not going to admit that he did anything wrong. (He was accused of smoking pot out of a bong in a moving vehicle. He denied it, saying he was passing the bong to the driver so he could take a hit) He had already got sentenced to the two options stated above on other occasions. The Judge contemplated committing this kid to in-patient treatment at Juvenile Hall, but ultimately decided against it. The Judge also discussed with the parents putting the kid on 6 months probation. Ultimately, the Judge gave him the higher level “J” class again and community service. There was one case where 3 kids were accused of taking their parent’s car without permission, stealing a bottle of alcohol from Ralph’s and getting pulled over with marijuana. One of the three kids was 13 years old. The Judge spent about 20 minutes on this case, openly admitting he wanted to impress the seriousness of the situation on the 13 year old. Another kid got caught with meth. Ultimately, both of these kids all got sentenced to the 2nd option stated above. When your case is done, you will be handed a packet of documents and told to return to the clerk’s office where you checked in. You just go back in and have a seat. The clerk will call the minor’s name when the file comes back from the courtroom. The clerk will explain to the minor and the parent where to find the class that needs to be attended and how to document proof of community service. You will also get the address you need to mail your proof in. Once you have that information, you are all good to go and you are done with going to court! The bottom line is that the Orange County Judge did not appear to want to penalize these minors and give them criminal records. If your kid is going to court for the first time on a relatively minor offense, you do not need an attorney. No one really had one. Your kid is only going to have to go to court one time. He or she is not going to suffer a conviction. He or she is not going to get his driver’s license suspended. The minor I accompanied could have suffered a one year suspension of his driver’s license if the Judge really wanted to be a jerk. But all of the cases handled that day resulted in the kids just having to do a class and community service to get the entire matter dismissed. I hope this helps with what to expect.

  3. Verania Venegas Thu, Feb 20 2014 9:30 PM

    I cant get in contact with my cousin, and every time he trys to call me I cant receive the call because I have to pay but I don't know how to pay or what to do so I can get in contact with him.. Help ??

Post a comment

© 2014 Johnny Ex, Inc. All rights reserved.