In California each county is required to post a public list of preset bail amounts for each felony or misdemeanor crime, and even for infractions like traffic violations and doing things without a valid government issued license.
A misdemeanor in California is defined as a crime that is punishable by up to 364 days in a county jail or less.
California divides misdemeanors into two classes:
- Standard misdemeanors. Crimes Punishable by up to six months.
- Aggravated misdemeanors. Crimes Punishable by up to 364 days.
For more serious felonies, especially if an offender has many prior offenses of the same type, it is possible that the judge will increase the crime to a felony conviction.
The San Benito County Misdemeanor Bail Schedule (links in excel sheet) are the county's preset bail amounts, but these amounts can be enhanced (increased) for a variety of reasons:
- the defendants prior record,
- the nature of the crime
- if a weapons was used,
- the amount of drugs involved,
- the judge and DA's belief that the offender may be a flight risk.
In general, the bail amounts get higher and thus a defendant has a harder time getting the resources in order to get released prior to trial, for crimes that are more serious in nature.
Go here to find what the bail amount will be for misdemeanor crimes a defendant in San Benito County is charged with.
If you want to read and understand our 'translation' of bail laws in California, go here.
To get a better understanding of exactly how bail works for facilities in San Benito County, click on one of the links on this page.