Jail Exchange, Every Jail, Every Prison, Every Facility in the Country
NAV
Skip Navigation LinksCounty Jails > California > San Diego > San Diego County South Bay Facility Inmate Visitation

San Diego County South Bay Facility Visiting Hours and Visitation Schedule


500 Third Ave
Chula Vista,
California
91910
San Diego County
Main Phone: 619-691-4810
Beds: 573
The information below provides complete instructions regarding San Diego County South Bay Facility Visiting Hours and Visitation Schedule, Visiting Rules, Inmate Video Visits and Jail Visitation process in Chula Vista, California.

Following these instructions exactly will enhance your chances of getting official approval to visit an inmate.

It is highly recommended that prior to an inmate visit you call the jail at 619-691-4810 to confirm that visits have not been cancelled.

San Diego County South Bay Facility Visiting Hours, Schedule and Instructions


Step 1

Make a visit reservation on-line by clicking here Wednesday through Monday 24 hours a day, unavailable on Tuesdays. Phone reservations may be made 10:00am-2:00p.m. Wednesday through Monday by calling 619-213-1433.


Step 2

To schedule a visit or E-visit click here  to look up your inmate, click on their name, scroll to the bottom of the page and click the E-visit link. Or go directly to the visitation schedule link by clicking here. You will need your inmates ID#.

Step 3

All visitors must arrive 60 minutes prior to the scheduled visit.

Step 4

Bring a valid government-issued, photo ID with you.



Who Can Visit an Inmate in San Diego County South Bay Facility

Anyone over the age of 18, who isn't on probation or parole (Unless you received permission from the Watch Commander) and can produce a valid government-issued photo ID can be approved to visit an inmate in this jail.

If you are on probation or parole, you will need to get permission from the Watch Commander. This decision can take up to 30 days.

Each adult visitor to {county} County jails will be run through a background check. Those with warrants are denied visitation or if allowed to visit, will be arrested at the jail.

This facility allows up to three visitors including children during each visit.

Children under age 18 must be accompanied by the parent or legal guardian.

Call 619-691-4810 to ask specific questions about this policy or click here for any updates to this policy.

If you are a co-defendant with the inmate in a pending case, your visit will be denied.

If you and the inmate are under a court order to have no contact with each other, your visit will be denied.

It is likely that the San Diego County South Bay Facility will deny visitation to anyone with a past felony conviction regardless of probation/parole status. Call 619-691-4810 prior to arriving for the specific jail guideline regarding your legal status.

The San Diego County South Bay Facility reserves the right to deny any person the right to enter the jail it chooses and for any reason.



San Diego County South Bay Facility Visitation Application Process

San Diego County South Bay Facility requires visitors who are on probation or parole to request permission to visit an inmate. . Those who have been in prison in any state must receive prior consent from the Watch Commander before you are able to schedule a visit.

Click here to fill out the online authorization visitation request form.

Or mail a request that includes all the needed information to:

Watch Commander

446 Alta Rd., Suite 5200

San Diego, CA 92158

Call 619-691-4810 to ask specific questions about the request.

Click here to go to the jail's website for more information about the application process. 



Visiting Hours in San Diego County South Bay Facility

Visitation times are subject to change go here  to see the updated schedule.

If you are visiting from another state or travelling a great distance, San Diego County South Bay Facility may allow you an extended visitation. Call 619-691-4810 to ask for special consideration.

Call 619-691-4810 or click here to view normal visiting hours and procedures for scheduling a visit.

1A, 1B - 30 minute visits

Sunday

12:30 PM, 2:30 PM. 3:15 PM

 

Monday

9:15 AM, 2:30 PM, 3:15 PM

Thursday

12:30 PM, 2:30 PM, 3:15 PM

Friday

12:30 PM

Saturday

9:15 AM, 11:30 AM, 12:30 PM

2A - 30 minute visits

Sunday

8:00 AM

Monday

11:15 AM

Thursday

8:00 AM, 11:15 AM

Friday

11:15 AM, 2:00 PM

Saturday

8:00 AM

2B - 30 minute visits

Sunday

9:15 AM

Monday

1:15 PM

Thursday

1:15 PM

Friday

1:15 PM

 

Saturday

1:15 PM

3A - 30 minute visits

Sunday

11:30 AM, 5:15 PM

Monday

12:30 PM, 7:15 PM

Thursday

9:15 AM

Friday

9:15 AM. 3:15 PM

Saturday

2:30 PM, 3:15 PM

3B - Inmate Workers 60 minute visits

Sunday

8:00 PM

Monday

8:00 PM

Thursday

8:00 PM

Friday

8:00 PM

Saturday

8:00 PM

4A & 4B - 30 minute visits

Sunday

5:15 PM, 7:15 PM

Monday

5:15 PM, 7:15 PM

Thursday

5:15 PM, 7:15 PM

Friday

5:15 PM, 7:15 PM

Saturday

5:15 PM,   7:15 PM

Area 5 - 30 minute visits

Monday

9:15 PM, 9:15 PM

Always call the jail prior to leaving your home for a visit to confirm visits have not been cancelled.



San Diego County South Bay Facility Visitation Dress Code

The San Diego County South Bay Facility staff will turn anyone away who is not dressed appropriately for a visit.

The best way to be sure the visit takes place is to dress as if you are meeting someone's grandmother for the first time. 

Wear clothes that are not revealing.

Don't wear see-through material.

Have all undergarments covered (males and females) and avoid a lot of cleavage.

Shorts and skirts should reach mid-thigh.

Sleeves should be at least half-way to your elbow.

The following types of clothing are also prohibited:

Clothing promoting gang affiliation.

Anything displaying drugs, weapons or profanity.

Clothing depicting anything obscene.

Call 619-691-4810 to ask specific questions about the San Diego County South Bay Facility Visitation Dress Code guidelines or click here for complete instructions.



San Diego County South Bay Facility Visitation Tips, Rules and Guidelines

Jail visits are conducted in person behind plexi-glass using a telephone headset.

Inmates are allowed two visits per week, and only one per day.

Children must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Leave all personal belongings, except for your state ID in your vehicle or in a locker (if one is provided).

Children must be monitored at all times or jail staff will end the visit early.

Call 619-691-4810 or click here to go to the jail's official website for additional Rules regarding San Diego County South Bay Facility visitation.



'At Home' Video Visitation

Many jails are implementing video visits. These visits are conducted via the Internet on computers, IPADS and Smart phones.

Video visits allow the visit to take place in the privacy of your own home. Some family members 'take their inmate with them' to church, the park, the doctor or anywhere else simply by signing in and bringing the device along.

Video visits save you from having to get your children ready, drive to the jail, wait in long lines and go through security checkpoints just to see the inmate.

Video visitation is slowly gaining favor with all jails in America as jail management realizes the financial savings and reduced security risks involved with remote visitation.

Click here to see if video visitation is now available at San Diego County South Bay Facility – as well as to view the complete set of rules, the cost to you and how to get set up online.

© 2014 Johnny Ex, Inc. All rights reserved.