Can a Felon Own a Gun In New Mexico?

Generally speaking, federal law makes it a crime for a convicted felon to own or possess a gun or ammunition.  If you were convicted of a federal felony crime, you must receive a presidential pardon if you are to ever own a firearm again.

Some states, however, have specifically designed laws regarding felons convicted of state laws and residing in their state, owning/possessing firearms. The state of New Mexico currently implements the following rules with regard to those felons.

More info on gun laws in NM

  • You are expressly forbidden to own or possess a firearm in the state of New Mexico if you were convicted of a felony in any state in the U.S. within the previous 10 years. Not only can you not own/posses or be around guns, but you must also avoid all ammunition, bombs, missiles and grenades.
  • If more than 10 years have passed since your felony conviction, you are once again allowed to legally possess/own a firearm in the state of New Mexico.

For example, you were convicted 21 years ago and released from prison 12 years ago. Under New Mexico law, you should be able to legally own a gun again.

Browse city and county jails in New Mexico, or search for New Mexico inmates

Final thoughts: An attorney experienced in the restoration of firearm rights can help you determine what your chances are of restoration and help you get the proper action started

Video: Gun laws up for debate in NM



About Mark Miclette 682 Articles
writes about inmates, jails, prisons, courts and the lives of people who live and work within the United States Criminal Justice System. His mission can be summed up in a single word; transparency.