How do Bail Bonds work at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail
Bail is the temporary release of an accused person awaiting trial on condition that a sum of cash money be lodged to guarantee their appearance in Hinsdale County Court in Lake City, Colorado.
Once the defendant is booked and filed for arrest, a custody and bail hearing will be scheduled, usually within 48 hours.
At the hearing the judge may issue a bail or bond amount. This bail or bond is a refundable sum of cash money paid to the court to provide incentive for the defendant to attend all scheduled court hearings.
Who do I call to find out the Bond for an Inmate?
Please call the jail at 970-944-2291 for the type of bond and any information that is required for a particular individual at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail.
A bond is set according to a court-approved schedule.
The purpose of the bond is to assure the offender's appearance in court.
Bail Bond Laws of Colorado
Effective January 1, 2022
1. Bond fees, booking fees, and other fees or debts never need to be paid to secure a person’s release on money bond. A payor need only pay the bond amount in order to secure release.
2. While never a basis to hold a defendant in jail, the following fees are chargeable as a debt to the defendant after release if the payor chooses not to pay the fees at the time of bonding: a $10 bond fee and a maximum 3.5% credit card payment fee. No other bond-related fees may be charged at any time, including any kiosk fees or fees for payment by cash, check, or money order.
3. Bond payments are to be made out to the holding county and are never to be made out in the name of the incarcerated person.
4. A sheriff must release a defendant within six hours after a personal recognizance bond is set and the defendant has returned to jail or within six hours after a cash bond has been set and the defendant has returned to jail and the defendant or surety notified the jail that bond is prepared to be posted, unless extraordinary circumstances exist. In the event of a delay of more than six hours, a surety and the defendant have a right to know what, if any, extraordinary circumstance is causing the delay. Supervisory conditions of release do not justify a delay in release; except that a sheriff may hold a defendant for up to 24 hours if necessary to ensure a defendant is fitted with required electronic monitoring.
5. Anyone who posts a money bond has the right to receive a copy of the bond paperwork, including documentation of the next upcoming court date.
6. A surety may never be asked to use posted bond money to pay a defendant’s debts. Only when defendants have posted their own money bond may they be asked if they would like to voluntarily relinquish bond money to pay their debts. Relinquishment of bond money by a defendant to pay a debt is never required and is entirely a voluntary choice by the defendant.
Instructions on how to post Bail or Bond in Hinsdale County
Because Hinsdale County and Colorado can change their bail bond procedures, it is always best to call either the jail or the court directly after an arrestee has been booked. Go directly to the Hinsdale County Jail and Court pages here to find the phone number you need for this information.
Ask the jail or court representative these specific questions:
To save you the time and trouble, jailexchange.com has compiled the bail bond policies for the Lake City area which you can link to directly by going .
If you feel the bail is too high and you wish to get it reduced, contact a lawyer or the defendant's public defender and get them to look into what they can do to get a bail reduction.
Option 1 - How to Post Bail using Cash for a Defendant at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail
The first option, a cash bond, is to pay the full bail amount in cash, cashier's check, or money order. Personal Checks are not accepted.
Depending on the crime, this amount could be anywhere from $100 to $75,000 or more.
To pay a cash bond, go to Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail or to the court where the bail hearing occurred. Going directly to the jail will quicken the release of the defendant as any bail paperwork processed at the court will have to be transferred to the jail.
Cashier's Checks and Money Orders may be made out to Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail where the defendant is being held, but usually to the Hinsdale County Sheriff's Office or to the Hinsdale County Court.
Option 2 - How to Post a Private or Surety Bond for a Defendant at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail
In the event that someone does not have the full bond amount available to him or her, there is what is called a private bond or surety bond.
This is an agreement made with a bail agent or bondsman who will post the full bail amount. In return, the defendant and/or cosigner will pay a premium to the bail agent. This premium will be 10-15% of the full bail amount.
For example, if bail is posted at $5,000, then the premium will cost approximately $500-$750.
A bail agent will often require some form of collateral, for example, a lien on a house, a car or jewelry. This is to ensure that if the defendant skips bail, or does not appear in court, the bail agent has some sort of compensation for the full bail amount being paid.
Remember, by making an agreement with a bail agent the signatory takes responsibility for paying the full bail amount if the defendant does not appear in court.
Option 3 - How to Post a Property Bond for a Defendant at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail
If you are a landowner in Hinsdale County you may be able to post a property bond. Property within Hinsdale County may be used as collateral to bail someone out. All owners of the property must be present to sign the bond in order for this to happen.
To find if property located outside of Hinsdale County can be used as collateral, call a local bail or bond agent or contact a defense lawyer.
Click here for additional information on how to post bail at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail.
Who can post Bail or Bond for a Defendant at Hinsdale County Sheriff & Jail?
Anyone over the age of 18 who can produce a valid government-issued photo ID can post bail. Accepted forms of ID include a Photo Driver's License, Passport, or Motor Vehicle issued ID.
In many circumstances, if the defendant has the resources, they can post their own cash bail from jail.
Surety Bonds are arranged by a third party, typically a Colorado state licensed Bail Bond firm.
Juveniles may only be bailed or bonded out of custody by a parent or legal guardian.
How are Bail or Bond Amounts decided in the city of Lake City, in Hinsdale County, state of Colorado
As a general rule, a judge will most likely set a higher bail or bond for more serious crimes and a lower amount for less serious crimes. Other factors may include, but are not limited to:
When will the Cash Bail or Collateral be returned to me?
Money or collateral will not be returned until the defendant's court case is finished, so realistically it could take several months to years, depending on the severity of the charges. If a defendant posts his or her own bail, Hinsdale County Court may retain whatever amount of fines or fees have accumulated throughout the trial.
What happens to my Bail or Collateral if the Defendant misses Court?
The Judge may order a failure to appear warrant for the person's arrest or the Judge may order a Bail Commissioner's Letter be issued that will be sent to the person with a new court date.
If cash bail was paid, the entire amount may be forfeited.