Cascade County Detention Facility

Search for an Inmate in Cascade County

Cascade County Detention Facility Information

The Cascade County Detention Facility is a 365 bed jail in the city of Great Falls, Cascade County, Montana. You can call them 24 hours a day for inmate information at 406-454-6820.

Offenders arrested for misdemeanors and felonies in this county are brought here for booking and processing, and if their crime requires it, are incarcerated until they either get bail or are released from custody on their own recognizance.

Those who are found guilty and sentenced to a term of less than one year, will do their time in this county. Those sentenced to longer terms will be sent to either the Montana State Prison System or the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

This page provides information on how to search for an inmate in the official jail roster, or by calling the facility at 406-454-6820, directions to the facility, and inmate services such as the visitation schedule and policies, funding an inmate's account, mailing them a letter, receiving phone calls from an inmate, voicemail, emailing and texting, tablet rentals, bail bond instructions, and commissary purchases.

It's always a good idea to find out and save the inmate's jail ID number or booking number as you may need this for sending mail or other communication needs. If you can't locate it online, you can call the Cascade County Detention Facility at 406-454-6820 to get it.

Phone: 406-454-6820

Physical Address:
3800 Ulm N. Frontage Road
Great Falls, MT 59404

Mailing Address (personal mail):
Cascade County Detention Facility
John Doe
3800 Ulm North Frontage Road
Great Falls, MT. 59404

Mailing Address (legal mail or subscriptions):
Cascade County Detention Facility
John Doe
3800 Ulm North Frontage Road
Great Falls, MT. 59404
(when mailing a money order, use inmate's name and this address on the envelope, but do not use 'Cascade County Detention Facility')

Other Jails and Prisons

How Do You Find Someone in the Cascade County Detention Facility?

To search for an inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility, review their criminal charges, the amount of their bond, when they can get visits, or even view their mugshot, go to the Official Jail Inmate Roster, or call the jail at 406-454-6820 for the information you are looking for.

Cascade County Detention Facility Inmate Search

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about finding an inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility, how the jail rosters work and what happens after an offender is arrested and booked. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

The Cascade County Detention Facility maintains an average of 365 offenders in custody on any given day. The Cascade County Detention Facility has a monthly turnover of 40% of their inmate population, another 30% turnover every 90 days, another 20% every six months, and approximately 10% stay incarcerated between six and twelve months. Every year Cascade County law enforcement agencies arrest and detain approximately 7,300 offenders.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
About the Cascade County Detention Facility

The Cascade County Detention Facility in Montana has a maximum rated capacity of 365 people, however there are times that the number of inmates exceeds 450.  Given that this is Montana and a largely rural area, the question is 'why so many people in a county jail', are there that many criminals in Great Falls, Montana?

The reason there is such a large jail in Cascade County is because it not only holds offenders that have recently been arrested and are awaiting trial, is that the detention facility also holds a significant amount of Montana State Prison inmates (150+), and a significant amount of offenders awaiting disposition of their case in Federal Court. In addition, because of its location near a major airport, there are times when 'Con-Air' passengers have to spend the night at the detention facility, during their normal picking up and dropping off of US Marshal detainees.

A staff of approximately 100 correction officers of the Cascade County Detention Facility oversee this massive 102,808 square foot county jail, originally built in 1998 at a cost of $25 million, and the inmates residing here.

The original Cascade County Jail, first built in 1913 for only 32 inmates, and the Great Falls City Jail, built to hold just 12 inmates, were where inmates in this county were held right up until 1998 when this facility was ready for occupancy. By that time, the county jail was holding an average of 60 inmates and the Great Falls jail was holding twice their capacity, so this new facility was more than welcome.

State inmates are kept separate from the county and federal inmates, as they were already sentenced and are serving long sentences, so they have access to privileges that the jail offenders do not.,  State inmates have a weight room, hobby room, and access to food like, pizza, burgers, burritos and salad, something that any former jail inmate will tell you is what they can only dream of.

Inmate's visitors can register online for their one 45-minute weekly visit allowed, but as many as four guests are allowed for each inmate at their visit.

Mail can be received every day and is processed and passed to the inmates quickly, however the jail uses a digital service to avoid contraband entering the facility. They can also send them money and buy them commissary online, and set up a phone account that allows the inmates to call them during the day and evening seven days a week.

All the information on these inmate services can be found in the sections below.  If you still have questions, you can phone the jail 24 hours a day by calling 406-454-6820.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Recent Bookings & Arrests

How do I find out if someone has been arrested and booked into the Cascade County Detention Facility?

To find out if someone you know has been recently arrested and booked into the Cascade County Detention Facility, call the jail’s booking line at 406-454-6820.

There may be an automated method of looking them up by their name over the phone, or you may be directed to speak to someone at the jail. Sometimes the jail staff may ask you the offender’s date of birth to ensure privacy of the offender’s status.

Keep in mind that after an arrest, the information on an offender may not be publicly available for several hours.

If you don’t want to check up on an offender by calling the jail, you can also try looking up people recently booked online.

Cascade County Detention Facility Booking Roster

What happens during booking in Cascade County?

After being arrested and taken into custody, and after being read their Miranda Rights, an offender will next be transported to the local police or department or the Sheriff’s Department in Cascade County for booking.

Booking is very involved and requires multiple steps in the process, however, keep in mind that most attorneys will advise that an offender remain silent and not offer any additional information about the crime they have been arrested for because anything they do say may be recorded and may very well be used against them in court.

What is the booking process like at the Cascade County Detention Facility?

Booking includes having their photo (mugshot) and fingerprints taken, as well as being asked a lot of questions about their personal history and state of mind. If it’s a serious felony, their DNA may also be taken. They will also be checked for warrants in Cascade County and other Montana and USA jurisdictions.

If the offender was arrested for a DUI offense, and has refused a breathalyzer test, they may also be forced to have blood drawn by a doctor or nurse.

It is also very likely that the offender will undergo a humiliating full body search while in the nude. This includes bending over, spreading their cheeks in the direction of an officer, and coughing. They will also be walked through a metal detector or x-ray machine, like those used at an airport.

What kind of questions are asked during booking?

The arresting jurisdiction will ask about gang affiliations, tattoos, medical conditions, prescribed medication they are taking, recreational drugs they are on or addicted to, allergies, if they are suicidal, and other relevant information that will help with determining their cell assignment and special needs.

What happens to an offender’s personal property during booking?

During the arrest and booking process an offender will also have all their personal property confiscated and held for either their release from jail, or with the offender’s approval, released to a friend or family member.

Personal property includes the clothing they are wearing, money, wallets, purses, cell phones, jewelry, body rings, earrings, watches, and even glasses if they are deemed a security risk. If they are allowed to keep their shoes or sneakers, the laces are removed.

What happens after booking?

At this point the offender will be allowed to make a free phone call to a person of their choice to notify them of their arrest, and/or arrange a bond or bail for their release.

If the offender is being detained and housed while awaiting arraignment, the Cascade County Detention Facility will provide a jail garment and slip-on shoes, a blanket, sheets, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, and a towel.

Often, before they are dressed in the jail outfit and brought to their housing location, they will be forced to take a shower and undergo a disinfectant treatment for body and hair lice, scabies or other pests that may be residing on their person.

How long does the Cascade County Detention Facility Booking process take?

Booking can take anywhere from an hour to 24 hours or more. It all depends on the number of people that are awaiting processing, the number of staff on duty at the time, and the behavior of the offender.

If the offender is heavily intoxicated and/or violent, the Booking Officer may decide to stick the offender in a holding cell for several hours until they become more manageable.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Directions / Map to the Cascade County Detention Facility
Inmate Bail and Bonding

What is Bail?

Bail is what the arrested in Cascade County must pay or do to stay out of jail until the first court appearance. 

The agreement to bail acts as a promise that the arrested will return to court for court dates and trial. Bail usually refers to a dollar amount, but bail can also mean something that has to be done, or a condition such as reporting to an officer of the court, a curfew, restraining orders or attending a treatment program. 

Bail is usually a significant enough amount of money and/or condition that the person will be negatively impacted and has incentive to return to court and not flee. A flight risk usually means that the person would flee the area, and not necessary that they are going to take an airplane. 

If a judge in Cascade County feels that the arrested will return to court for further proceedings, the arrested could be released under a conditional release without needing to pay bail money. This is called Released on Own Recognizance, or ROR.  

Conditions for ROR might be to obey all court orders and laws, maintain contact with the lawyer, report changes in residence or have no contact with the victim. Family support will show the court that there are people who will make sure that the defendant makes it to court. 

If the judge or bail schedule determines that the defendant would be a danger to the public if they were released, bail can be denied, and the person will be detained in the Cascade County Detention Facility until the case is resolved or goes to trial. 

Bail can be denied if the defendant did not comply with bail conditions from a previous arrest. Bail is usually denied in cases of violent offenses. 

What is the difference between Bail and Bond?

Bail and bond are used interchangeably to mean the same thing but technically, they are different. The bail is the amount to be paid and a bond is a signed document promising payment of the bail amount with certain conditions. Think of a bond as a loan to pay for the bail.  

The thought of being in jail can cause the arrested to panic and try to secure a bond immediately.

DO NOT panic and take the time to understand all the options.  

More courts are now trying to work with defendants to make bail work and might provide non-monetary options or even reduce the bail.  

Payments to a bond company are not refundable. It is a long process to get back property title or money that was given to the clerk of court or bondsperson to secure the bond. This could put your loved ones into a difficult financial situation. 

Another reason not to unnecessarily rush into securing a bond is that if the court notes that you came up with the money to pay a bond company, they may assume you have resources to pay a defense attorney and decline public defense.  

On the other hand, as anyone who has ever been involved in their criminal defense understands, fighting your case while ‘out on the streets’ gives you a much better chance of either winning, or getting a more favorable sentence.  

What are the different types of bonds in Cascade County?

Based on a review of information from the arrest, the judge or bail officer will determine and notify the accused of which types of bonds are available to them.

To describe the types of bonds, let’s use an example of buying your neighbor’s car. Your neighbor decides the price of the car and how they would be paid.

Similarly, the court (meaning a police or bail officer, clerk of court, bail magistrate or judge) determines the bail amount and how it would be paid.

Here are different options that the seller of the car or the court might consider:

You could pay full asking price for the car in cash. This is similar to paying cash bail. The full amount of bail would be paid to the town or county clerk or at the jail. Cash, cashier’s checks and credit cards are usually accepted.

You could sign an agreement on your own or with another person to pay for the car at a future date knowing that your neighbor would know where to find you if you stopped payment. This would be similar to a cash bond or a personal recognizance (PR) bond which are bonds to where someone representing the defendant signs paperwork promising to pay the bail amount if the defendant does not show up to court. There is no money due up front. 

If the defendant does not show up, the full amount of the bail will be due to the court and the people who signed the paperwork will be responsible for paying the court and the court will send the sheriff’s department to arrest you. 

Cash bonds and PR bonds are types of unsecured bonds because you are not securing it with any money down. In bond terms, a surety is a person who will be responsible for making sure that you will show to court and will be responsible to pay the bond if the arrested person does not show up.

Surety can be family, friend or a bondsperson. Your attorney cannot act as a surety.

You can put a deposit down for your neighbor’s car and sign an agreement that the car will be paid off at a later date. Cash percentage in lieu of bonds is when the defendant pays a percentage of the bail amount, usually 10%, to the court which then holds the money until the case is over. 

The amount is returned to the person who paid the 10% after the case is over. In most cases, the full amount is not returned if there are court fees or fines due. This is a type of surety bond if another person signs the bond paperwork.

You could sign an agreement that if the car were not paid off, that your neighbor would get your house or something of value. 

A property bond is a bond that the courts might consider in which the bond is pledged in land or home real estate (mobile homes are not accepted).  

Usually, the property must be in the same state as the courts, and it must be worth at least 1 ½ - 2 times the amount of the bond. 

There are multiple court fees involved to execute a property bond with the courts and a tedious process to get the property deed back. This is another type of surety bond if another person or a bond company is used to secure the bond. 

You could also go to a local bank and take out a car loan offering property or anything of value for collateral. You may get someone to co-sign on the loan and offer their property. The bank charges fees, interest and could keep your property if you did not pay the loan back, or even on time.  

A professional bondsperson makes money, at least 10% of the bond amount by providing you with a “loan” called a bond. The percent that they charge is fixed by the state and cannot be negotiated. The defendant or surety does not get that 10% or more back even if the terms of the bail are met. 

With a property bond, the property deed would need to be signed over to the bondsperson and everyone on the deed would need to be involved. 

Since the bondsperson signed off, to be responsible that you show to court as your surety, they can send a bounty hunter to bring you to court if you flee. A bondsperson does not have to give you a bond if the defendant seems to be too much of a risk.

Ask the bondsperson to explain all the costs: percentage, fees or court fees. There is never a reason to rush through signing the paperwork with a bond company. Make sure that everything told to you is in writing and that you understand what you are signing. Ask questions, and if you feel rushed or don’t understand the contract with the bond company, you might want to call another one.

(There have been phone scams where a bond company calls and informs a person that their family member has been arrested and they ask for financial information.  A bondsperson will not call asking for money without involvement of the arrested.)

Does Cascade County have bail?  

Yes,  Cascade County recognizes most types of bonds.

What kind of bonds are accepted in Cascade County? 

Cascade County permits five types of bonds:

•    By a deposit with the court of an amount equal to the required bail of cash, stocks, bonds, certificates of deposit, or other personal property approved by the court.

•    By pledging real estate situated within the state with an unencumbered equity, not exempt, owned by the defendant or sureties at a value double the amount of the required bail.

•    By posting a written undertaking executed by the defendant and by two sufficient sureties.

•    By posting a commercial surety bond executed by the defendant and by a qualified agent for and on behalf of the surety company.

•    By posting an offender's driver's license in lieu of bail if the summons describes a violation of any offense as provided in 61-5-214 and if the offender is the holder of an unexpired driver's license.”

Who can set bail in Cascade County?  

For most non-violent crimes bail is preset according to a bail schedule. More serious and violent crimes require a defendant to appear in front of a judge who will determine bail amount.

When is bail set in Montana?  

For most non-violent crimes bail is preset according to a bail schedule and that information is available during the booking process. More serious crimes will require a hearing in front of a judge. This hearing, also known as a bail hearing, will generally be scheduled for the next court day. State law requires the bail hearing to take place within 48 hrs. not counting weekends or holidays.

Can I get the bail or bond reduced in Cascade County Montana? 

Yes, your attorney can request a bail or bond modification.

In Cascade County Montana, who can pay bail for me? 

The person posting bail should be a relative or close friend, called a surety, because they are promising and taking responsibility that you will return to court to get their money back. 

A surety is not responsible for court fees or paying off personal debts for the defendant. A professional bondsperson who is approved by the State of Montana could be the surety and execute a bond to the court on your behalf.

Can bail be paid online in Cascade County Montana?  

Yes, Cascade County does offer online bail payment. Contact the jail for specific information on how to pay bail. Go to the Cascade County Detention Facility for more information about the jails in Cascade County.

What options are there to pay bail in Cascade County Montana? 

Most all jail and courts accept cash, a cashier or bankers’ check. Some accept a credit card with fees. Please contact the jail for specific information on what methods of payment are accepted. Go to the Cascade County Detention Facility for more information about posting bail in Cascade County.  

Will I get all my bond money back in Montana? 

Bail money is returned to the person who paid the bail; in whole or in part once the case is finished. There may be fees, restitution (money to pay for damage caused by the crime) or fines that come out of that amount. If you used a bondsperson, you would not get your 10% back. Property is returned by the court or bondsperson after the appropriate requests and formal paperwork are completed with the court.

Can I get bail or a bond with no money down in Cascade County?

Yes, 'no money down bail or bond' is available in Montana. Unless you are released on own recognizance the court will require payment in full, however, some bail bond agents do offer 'no money down' bail.

A cash bond or a personal recognizance (PR) bond are bonds where someone representing the defendant signs paperwork promising to pay the bail amount if the defendant does not show up to court. There is no money due up front. 

If the defendant does not show up, the full amount of the bail will be due to the court and the people who signed the paperwork will be responsible for paying the court and the court will send the sheriff’s department to arrest you. 

What are the least expensive and affordable bail bonds in Montana?  

The Cascade County Detention Facility or court in this jurisdiction can provide you with a list of approved and licensed bond companies, but they cannot recommend a specific company. You are not obligated to use the first company available and can call several companies to compare what kind of bonds that the bondsperson is willing to execute.  

The percentage of bail that the bond company can charge is set, usually at 10%, by the state and cannot be negotiated.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Visitation

How Do You Visit an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility? What is the Schedule?

Cascade County Detention Facility ON-SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE

3800 Ulm N. Frontage Road
Great Falls, MT 59404
406-454-6820

  • Visits are 30 minutes.
  • You must be on the inmate's visitor list.
  • The actual visitation times may depend on the inmate and their housing location. Call 406-454-6820 and get your inmate's times and make an appointment to visit.
  • Inmates are allowed one visit per week.
  • A maximum of 2 guests are allowed per inmate.
  • Visitors must have a government issued photo ID.
  • Dress professionally with non-revealing clothing.

ON SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE - ALWAYS CALL 406-454-6820 TO CONFIRM VISITATION SCHEDULE!

DAY TIMES
SUNDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
MONDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
TUESDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
WEDNESDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
THURSDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
FRIDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
SATURDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM

Cascade County Detention Facility ON-SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE

3800 Ulm N. Frontage Road
Great Falls, MT 59404
406-454-6820

  • Visits are 45 minutes.
  • Each inmate is allowed one visit per weekend.
  • You must first fill out the INMATE VISITATION REQUEST online form.
  • You must be on the inmate's visitor list.
  • Visitation schedule subject to change.
  • A maximum of 4 guests, including children, are allowed per inmate.
  • Visitors must have a government issued photo ID.
  • Dress professionally with non-revealing clothing.

ON SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE - ALWAYS CALL 406-454-6820 TO CONFIRM VISITATION SCHEDULE!

DAY HOURS PODS
SAT 8:30AM - 1:15PM G, H, J
SAT 1:30PM - 4:45PM K
SUN 8:30AM - 1:15PM G, H, J
SUN 1:30PM - 4:45PM K
  • Do not arrive more than 15 minutes before your scheduled visitation time.
  • Anyone wishing to visit must have their e-mailed request submitted no later than 1700 Hours on the Friday proceeding the upcoming weekend.
  • Visitors should report to the lobby area of the facility with only the following items:
    - car keys (2 only), on a bare ring (nothing else on the ring);
    - identification with picture (no wallets or purses); current state or federal issued non-expired I.D.'s only
  • Visitors with infants may also have:
     - one (1) clear plastic bottle per infant
     - one (1) diaper
     - one (1) blanket, not quilted; no larger than 3' X 3'
     - no baby carriers or diaper bags will be allowed
     - four (4) baby wipes in a clear plastic bag

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Inmate Visitation Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Remote Video Visitation

Can I Use My Computer or Phone to Have a Remote Video Visit with an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility?

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Video Remote Visitation Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Money Accounts

How Do You Deposit Money for an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility?

There are multiple ways to add money to an inmate's account at Cascade County Detention Facility, using Access Corrections Secure Deposits

1. Online - Making a deposit using a verified Visa or Mastercard online, or using their Apple or Android App.
2. By phone - Dial 866.345.1884 to reach their 24/7 Access Corrections domestic call centers.
3. Jail Lobby Kiosk - Kiosks accept cash, credit cards, and debit cards.
4. Mail-in Lockbox - Friends or Family who do not have a credit or debit card can mail money orders to their secure lockbox to make deposits to an inmate’s account. Depositors use a customized form that captures all needed information. Upon receipt, they process and post the deposits to the inmate's trust fund in approximately 48 hours.

Money orders may be mailed to inmates at:
Access Corrections
P.O. Box 12486
St. Louis, MO 63132

Money orders must be made out to "Access Secure Deposits".
Include the state, city, inmate name and ID number on all money orders.

5. Walk-in Cash Deposits - Go to any Cash Pay Today location to deposit cash to your inmate's account.

Secure Deposits - Frequently Asked Questions
Secure Deposits - Video Tutorial on How it Works
Secure Deposits - Help Pages

Customer Service Contacts:
Phone: 866-345-1884
Email[email protected]
Online Chat - Look for 'bubble' on bottom right of the page linked here.

How to Send Money to an Inmate in Cascade County

To send commissary money to an inmate in Cascade County Detention Facility follow these steps:

  • Register with Access Corrections by creating an account.
  • Select Montana, then select Cascade County Detention Facility, and then the inmate you want to send money to.
  • Choose the amount of money you want to send, and input your payment method.

For all information on how to Send Money to an inmate's account check out our full money and commissary guide for Cascade County Detention Facility.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Inmate Money and Trust Fund Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Phone Contact

How Do I Receive Phone Calls from an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility?

How an Inmate Makes a Phone Call to You or Others from Cascade County Detention Facility

To set up a phone account so that your inmate can call you from Cascade County do the following:

1. Enroll in an account with Securus Technologies.

2. Choose one of three account types, Securus Debit, Advance Connect or Direct Bill.
3. Choose [facility_name_1}, then connect with your inmate.
4. If you have any questions, call Securus: 972-734-1111 or 800-844-6591.

To find out fees, how to's, calling times, limits on phone calls and other systems Securus has do that you can communicate with your Cascade County inmate, check out our Inmate Phone Page.
NOTE: All of your inmate's phone calls are recorded and stored. It is advised not to discuss their pending case.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Inmate Phone Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Mailing an Inmate

How do I Mail an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility, and what can I send them?

When mailing a letter or postcard to an inmate, please address your mail as follows:

Cascade County Detention Facility
John Doe
3800 Ulm North Frontage Road
Great Falls, MT. 59404

All mail sent to an inmate at the Cascade County Detention Facility must include the sender's name and mailing address in the top left corner of the envelope or postcard.
Failure to include your return address will most likely result in your mail NOT being delivered and your letter destroyed.

Mail must be 10 pages or less per envelope
Page size no larger than 8.5” x 11”
Photo size no larger than 5” x 7”, no polaroid photos, no photos of nude persons
No items containing, depicting, or relating to sexually explicit activity, gang activity, illegal activity, violence, drug, or alcohol use, etc.
No magazines, books, or packages 
No cash allowed
No 3rd party mail
No blank envelopes, blank paper, stamps, photocopies or laminated items, stickers, internet materials, newspaper clippings, or sticky notes
No illegal substances or any other items considered as contraband
No originals of important documents such as birth certificates, driver’s licenses, social security cards, green cards, etc., as these items cannot be returned
No original photos or other irreplaceable or valuable items

Follow these instructions exactly to help ensure that your inmate receives his/her mail and not have it thrown away.
The Cascade County Detention Facility has a zero-tolerance policy regarding mail violations.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Inmate Mail Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Commissary

Can I purchase Commissary Online for an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility, and what can I purchase?

Cascade County Detention Facility contracts with Access Securepak (aka MyCarePak) for families to send pre-determined packages of commissary items to your inmate.

Access Securepak carries over 1,000 different items in the following categories:
- Food and Snacks
- Personal Hygiene Products
- Electronics
- Apparel

Registration Process:
1. Register here.
2. Select Montana.
3. Select Cascade County Detention Facility.
4. Find your Inmate.
5. Deposit Funds.
6. Order Commissary Items.
Once you are logged in, you will receive instructions on how much (and what products) you can send your inmate.
Contact Information:
* If you have any questions, you can call Access Securepak at 800-546-6283.
* You can email My Care Pack at [email protected].
* You can write them at:
    Access Securepak
    10880 Linpage Place
    St. Louis, MO 63132

* You can Live Chat with a Representative online: (bottom left corner of page)
   Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m.–11 p.m. CST, 
   and Saturdays, 10 a.m.–4 p.m. CST.

*Note* Access Securepak will issue a refund for or replace broken, damaged, or missing products reported by Cascade County Detention Facility staff. They will not honor reports of discrepancies from inmate's families or friends.
My CarePack is the Cascade County Detention Facility's outside vendor for Commissary Items. They have a very good mix of Chips, Snacks, Candy, Meat, Seafood, Hygiene products, Letter writing materials, Electronics and Apparel items for sale on their website.


*NOTE* -- Once you are fully registered and have selected the inmate you wish to send commissary to, you will receive instructions on how much you can deposit, how much (and what) you can purchase for your inmate, and how often you can send commissary.

How to Send Money to an Inmate in Cascade County

To send commissary money to an inmate in Cascade County Detention Facility follow these steps:

  • Register with Access Corrections by creating an account.
  • Select Montana, then select Cascade County Detention Facility, and then the inmate you want to send money to.
  • Choose the amount of money you want to send, and input your payment method.

For all information on how to Send Money to an inmate's account check out our full money and commissary guide for Cascade County Detention Facility.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Commissary Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Texting and Emailing an Inmate

How Can I Communicate with an Inmate in the Cascade County Detention Facility using an Online Messaging Service?

Cascade County Detention Facility uses Securus eMessaging for Inmate Email.




Register here. (You are already registered if you signed up with Securus for 'Phone' or 'Remote Visitation').

Steps: 
1.  Sign up for eMessaging
2. Find your inmate.
3. Purchase a book of Securus ‘stamps’.
4. Type & Send message.

Things you CAN do:
1.  You CAN ONLY send messages from the Securus website, or with the Securus app. (links below).
2. You CAN transfer ‘stamps’ to your inmate.
3. You CAN deposit money to your inmate, and they can purchase ‘stamps’ on their end.
4. Each time you send a message, you CAN pay for them to reply.
5. You CAN send photos. (Jail staff will review for appropriateness) 

Things you CANNOT do:
1.  You CANNOT use your own personal email to send messages.
2. You CANNOT send any message or photo that would normally be rejected by regular mail.

Other Things:
1.  Photos must be .jpg, .jpeg or .png.
2. eMessages and photos must meet the jail’s standards for regular mail.
3. If your eMessage or Photo is rejected you will be notified of the reason, but you will NOT get a refund.

What is the cost of sending inmate messages?

  • Send a text Message - 1 stamp
  • Purchase a reply for your inmate - 1 stamp
  • Attach up to 5 photos - 1 stamp each photo
  • Share up to 5 eCards - 1 stamp each eCard
  • Send just a photo with no text - 1 stamp
  • Send a 30 second VideoGram - 3 stamps

What can your inmate do with digital 'stamps'?

  • Reply to your eMessage if you attach a return stamp
  • Receive transferred stamps you share with them (no cost to transfer)
  • When available, they can purchase their own stamps from their Inmate Debit Account


Contact Information and Help:
eMessaging FAQ  
eMessaging Signup & Helpful Information  
Online Customer Service Support 
Phone Support: 972-734-1111 or 800-844-6591
iphone app
Android app

Mailing Check payments
Securus Correctional Billing Services
PO Box 650757
Dallas, Texas 75265-075

How to Send a Text or Email Message to an Inmate in Cascade County Detention Facility

To send a text or email message to a Cascade County inmate, do the following:

Cascade County Detention Facility uses Securus eMessaging for Inmate Email.

Register here. (You are already registered if you signed up with Securus for 'Phone' or 'Remote Visitation' in Cascade County or any jail or prison in the country).
Steps: 
1.  Sign up for eMessaging
2. Find your Cascade County inmate.
3. Purchase a book of Securus ‘stamps’.
4. Type & Send message.

For all Cascade County information for sending secure messages to an inmate in Cascade County Detention Facility, including instructions, video examples, fees, limits, tablet rentals and more, check out out Text/Email an Inmate Page.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Text and Email Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Tablets

Do Inmates in the Cascade County Detention Facility have Access to Tablets or Computers?

Cascade County Detention Facility now offers Securus 'SecureView' Tablet Rentals to their inmates.


  
Securus is the same company that handles the inmate phone system, video visitations, email and texting and digital letters.

The tablets can be rented on a monthly basis and while not directly connected to the internet, the inmates can use them for the following activities:

  • Phone Calls - Inmates may make calls directly from their tablet allowing for more privacy. The rates are the same as the phones in the unit, and the calls are still recorded and monitored.
  • eMessaging - Communicate via a text based message or picture. Fee based system.
  • Job Search - Using JobView, a secure job search application, inmates have the ability to see what jobs are available when they are released.
  • Education - Free educational platform and course catalog that provides thousands of educational resources.
  • Self Help -Inmates have daily access to mental health and addiction recovery programming.
  • Music - Top-40, Hip-Hop, Country, Rock, Gospel, and more.
  • Law Library -  Legal research with up-to-date case information.
  • eBooks - Thousands of available titles.
  • Religion - Religious resources for spiritual guidance.
  • Games - Inmates can play their favorite games. Available through monthly subscriptions
  • Facility Services - Digital access to submitted forms, requests, facility documents, and notifications from staff.

Here's how it works:

  • Register here.  It is recommended you use Chrome or Firefox.
  • Pay for the subscription using Paypal.
  • You get charged the 1st of each month. 
  • You get charged a full month even if it's only used for a partial month.
  • No activation or early termination fees.
  • Your inmate will receive their tablet in 3-5 business days, after you pay.

Questions:

How to Rent a Tablet for an Inmate in Cascade County Detention Facility

To rent a tablet for an inmate in Cascade County follow these instructions:

  • Register here.  It is recommended you use Chrome or Firefox.
  • Pay for the subscription using Paypal.
  • You get charged the 1st of each month. 
  • You get charged a full month even if it's only used for a partial month.
  • No activation or early termination fees.
  • Your Cascade County inmate will recieve their tablet in 3-5 business days, after you pay.


If you have any questions:

For all Cascade County information on Tablet Rentals for your inmate, check out our Tablet Rental Page.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Cascade County Detention Facility’s Tablet Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 406-454-6820 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Are there photos of the Cascade County Detention Facility? What does it look like?
Other Jails Nearby

What are the other Jails in the Neighboring Counties surrounding Cascade County?

Cascade Lewis and Clark Teton Meagher Chouteau Judith Basin
⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less

Search for an Inmate in Cascade County

This facility, known as "Cascade County Detention Facility" is also known as Cascade County Jail & Detention Center, Cascade County Jail & Detention Ctr, Cascade County Jail & Detention Ctr, Montana, Cascade.