Jail Exchange, Every Jail, Every Prison, Every Facility in the Country
NAV
Skip Navigation LinksCounty Jails > California > Del Norte > Del Norte County Jail

How do Bail Bonds work at Del Norte County Jail in Crescent City, Del Norte County California?

What is Bail?

Bail is the temporary release of an accused person awaiting trial on condition that a sum of money be lodged to guarantee their appearance in Del Norte County Court in Crescent City, California.

Once the defendant is booked and filed for arrest, a custody and bail hearing will be scheduled, usually within 48 hours.

At the hearing the judge will issue a bail amount. This bail or bond is a refundable sum of money paid to the court to provide incentive for the defendant to attend all scheduled court hearings.

Here are the California Bail Laws with our interpretation of what the laws really mean.

How much is My Bail Going to Be?

The amount of the bail in Crescent City, Del Norte County depends on many factors (see How Is Bail Determined in Del Norte County California? below), however here is the most recent information of bail amounts for each criminal charge the defendant is charged with.

To determine the criminal charges of the inmate and find the bail amount, go here and look the inmate up or call 707-464-4191.

Who Can Post Bail for a Defendant at Del Norte County Jail?

Anyone over the age of 18 who can produce a valid government-issued photo ID can post bail. Accepted forms of ID include a Photo Driver's License, Passport, or Motor Vehicle issued ID.

Juveniles may only be bailed or bonded out of custody by a parent or legal guardian.

When Can Bail Be Posted?

Bail can be posted seven days a week, 24 hours a day, at Del Norte County Jail or during operating hours at the Del Norte County Court in Crescent City, California where the bail hearing occurred.

Go here to confirm where to post bail in this county or call 707-464-4191

To confirm your inmate is approved for bail, you have an idea of the bail amount and fees and that a cashier is available to process the paperwork, call 707-464-4191 before arriving.

How Is Bail determined in Crescent City Del Norte County California?

As a general rule, a judge will most likely set a higher bail for more serious crimes and a lower bail for less serious crimes. Other factors may include, but are not limited to:

  • The nature and circumstances of the offense
  • The defendant's record of previous convictions
  • The defendant's past record of appearance in court after being admitted to bail
  • The defendant's family ties
  • The defendant's employment record
  • The defendant's financial resources
  • The defendant's character and mental condition
  • The defendant's community ties

This document explains the California Bail Laws and how Bail is determined.


Instructions on How to Post Bail and Get Someone out of Del Norte County Jail

Option 1

How to Post Bail using Cash for a Defendant at Del Norte County Jail

The first option, a cash bond, is to pay the full bail amount in cash, cashier's check, or money order. Personal Checks are not accepted.

Depending on the crime, this amount could be anywhere from $100 to $75,000 or more.

This is the link to the Bail Schedule page for Del Norte County and Felony and Misdemeanor Bail Amounts for various crimes committed in this county.

To pay a cash bond, go to Del Norte County Jail or to the court where the bail hearing occurred. Going directly to the jail will quicken the release of the defendant as any bail paperwork processed at the court will have to be transferred to the jail.

Cashier's Checks and Money Orders may be made out to Del Norte County Jail where the defendant is being held, but usually to the Del Norte County Sheriff's Office or to the Del Norte County Court.

To purchase money orders visit any Western Union, Moneygram or Post Office.

Option 2

How to Post a Private or Surety Bond for a Defendant at Del Norte County Jail

In the event that someone does not have the full bond amount available to him or her, there is what is called a private bond or surety bond.

This is an agreement made with a bail agent or bondsman who will post the full bail amount. In return, the defendant and/or cosigner will pay a premium to the bail agent. This premium will be 10-15% of the full bail amount.

For example, if bail is posted at $5,000, then the premium will cost approximately $500-$750.

This is the link to the Bail Schedule page for Del Norte County and Felony and Misdemeanor Bail Amounts for various crimes committed in this county.

A bail agent will often require some form of collateral, for example, a lien on a house, a car or jewelry. This is to ensure that if the defendant skips bail, or does not appear in court, the bail agent has some sort of compensation for the full bail amount being paid.

Remember, by making an agreement with a bail agent the signatory takes responsibility for paying the full bail amount if the defendant does not appear in court.

Option 3

How to Post a Property Bond for a Defendant at Del Norte County Jail

If you are a landowner in Del Norte County you may be able to post a property bond. Property within Del Norte County may be used as collateral to bail someone out. All owners of the property must be present to sign the bond in order for this to happen.

To find if property located outside of Del Norte County can be used as collateral, call a local bail or bond agent or contact a defense lawyer.

Click here for additional information on how to post bail at Del Norte County Jail.

This is the link to the Bail Schedule page for Del Norte County and Felony and Misdemeanor Bail Amounts for various crimes committed in this county.

How Long Will It Take The Defendant To Be Released?

As long as all the necessary documentation and identification are provided, the bail paperwork should take no more than 15 to 30 Minutes. Once the bail is processed it may take 2 to 10 hours for the defendant to be released from Del Norte County Jail. It is common for larger jails to have longer processing times.

When Will the Money or Collateral Be Returned?

Money or collateral will not be returned until the defendant's court case is finished, so realistically it could take several months to years, depending on the severity of the charges. If a defendant posts his or her own bail, Del Norte County Court may retain whatever amount of fines or fees have accumulated throughout the trial.

What Happens if the Defendant Misses Court?

The Judge may order a failure to appear warrant for the person's arrest or the Judge may order a Bail Commissioner's Letter be issued that will be sent to the person with a new court date.