Hancock County Jail & Sheriff

Search for an Inmate in Hancock County

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff Information

The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff is a 118 bed jail in the city of Sneedville, Hancock County, Tennessee. You can call them 24 hours a day for inmate information at 423-733-2249.

Offenders arrested for misdemeanors and felonies in this county are brought here for booking and processing, and if their crime requires it, are incarcerated until they are either bonded out, are released from custody on their own recognizance, or are ordered to remain in custody until the disposition of their trial.

You can also use the inmate search tool to see this facility's roster of those who have been arrested and are still in custody.

Those who are found guilty and sentenced to a term of less than one year, will do their time in this county. Those sentenced to longer terms will be sent to either the Tennessee State Prison System or the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

This page provides information on how to search for an inmate in the official jail roster, or by calling the facility at 423-733-2249, directions to the facility, and inmate services such as the visitation schedule and policies, funding an inmate's account, mailing them a letter, receiving phone calls from an inmate, voicemail, emailing and texting, tablet rentals, bail bond instructions, and commissary purchases.

It's always a good idea to find out and save the inmate's jail ID number or booking number as you may need this for sending mail or other communication needs. If you can't locate it online, you can call the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff at 423-733-2249 to get it.

Phone: 423-733-2249

Physical Address:
265 New Jail Street
Sneedville, TN 37869

Other Jails and Prisons

How Do You Find Someone in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff?

To search for an inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff, review their criminal charges, the amount of their bond, when they can get visits, or even view their mugshot, go to the Official Jail Inmate Roster, or call the jail at 423-733-2249 for the information you are looking for. You can also look up a Hancock County offender's Criminal Court Case online, or any offender that was arrested in the state of Tennessee.

Tennessee also keeps a public database of all their felony offenders.

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff Inmate Search

The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff maintains an average of 118 offenders in custody on any given day. The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff has a monthly turnover of 40% of their inmate population, another 30% turnover every 90 days, another 20% every six months, and approximately 10% stay incarcerated between six and twelve months. Every year Hancock County law enforcement agencies arrest and detain approximately 2,360 offenders.

The following charts of Hancock County inmate population demographics are updated daily. The information shown is for today. For research purposes we have broken down the inmates by sex, age, ethnicity, and criminal charges.

The information is compiled from the Hancock County Corrections Department, the state of Tennessee Department of Corrections, as well as the United States Department of Justice and Census Bureau records. It represents every person in custody in Hancock County.

For complete information on how to get directions, bond, visit, mail, send and receive email and texts, receive phone calls, and send money or commissary to an inmate, find arrest information for Hancock County and other counties surrounding this one, scroll down this page. We have a section for each.

We also provide photos of the jail that we have collected over the years.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
About the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff

INTERESTING FACTS about the Hancock County Completed in 2021, the housing pods were designed for 440 beds with the shell space for an additional 136 beds. There is the infrastructure to have up to 600 more beds. New buildings for evidence storage, maintenance. And a new intake area, kitchen and laundry were also part of the design. The sheriff’s office is located within the same building.

VISIT YOUR LOVED ONE  

During COVID, in person visitation was halted for inmates throughout the country. It prompted facilities to make it a priority to upgrade their abilities to have video visitation. Many jails have restarted in person visitations. Call 423-733-2249  to confirm whether or not the Hancock County Jail is offering in person visitation. If not, you will need to create an account for video visitation rights. It may be difficult to see your friend or loved ones while they are incarcerated, but it is important for their well-being.

Visitation hours may be dependent upon the sex of the person and, it also may be dependent upon the section of the facility in which they are housed

If in person visitation is allowed, there are a strict list of rules you must follow. You will also have purses searched upon entering.

COMMISSARY

Commissary posted with cash in the lobby will post THAT DAY. There is also the option to post money online for someone, for them to buy items in the commissary store, or to add time for tablets, phone calls, or messaging.

for sending texts or emails. See the sections below for details.

MAIL

Please include the inmates name, ID number, their dorm number and cell or bed number if possible, when sending mail. There are strict guidelines in regard to what you can send a friend while they are in jail. Contact the jailer to get a full list of things that are not allowed.

 

 

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Recent Bookings & Arrests

How do I find out if someone has been arrested and booked into the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff?

To find out if someone you know has been recently arrested and booked into the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff, call the jail’s booking line at 423-733-2249.

There may be an automated method of looking them up by their name over the phone, or you may be directed to speak to someone at the jail. Sometimes the jail staff may ask you the offender’s date of birth to ensure privacy of the offender’s status.

Keep in mind that after an arrest, the information on an offender may not be publicly available for several hours.

If you don’t want to check up on an offender by calling the jail, you can also try looking up people recently booked online.

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff Booking Roster

What happens during booking in Hancock County?

After being arrested and taken into custody, and after being read their Miranda Rights, an offender will next be transported to the local police or department or the Sheriff’s Department in Hancock County for booking.

Booking is very involved and requires multiple steps in the process, however, keep in mind that most attorneys will advise that an offender remain silent and not offer any additional information about the crime they have been arrested for because anything they do say may be recorded and may very well be used against them in court.

What is the booking process like at the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff?

Booking includes having their photo (mugshot) and fingerprints taken, as well as being asked a lot of questions about their personal history and state of mind. If it’s a serious felony, their DNA may also be taken. They will also be checked for warrants in Hancock County and other Tennessee and USA jurisdictions.

If the offender was arrested for a DUI offense, and has refused a breathalyzer test, they may also be forced to have blood drawn by a doctor or nurse.

It is also very likely that the offender will undergo a humiliating full body search while in the nude. This includes bending over, spreading their cheeks in the direction of an officer, and coughing. They will also be walked through a metal detector or x-ray machine, like those used at an airport.

What kind of questions are asked during booking?

The arresting jurisdiction will ask about gang affiliations, tattoos, medical conditions, prescribed medication they are taking, recreational drugs they are on or addicted to, allergies, if they are suicidal, and other relevant information that will help with determining their cell assignment and special needs.

What happens to an offender’s personal property during booking?

During the arrest and booking process an offender will also have all their personal property confiscated and held for either their release from jail, or with the offender’s approval, released to a friend or family member.

Personal property includes the clothing they are wearing, money, wallets, purses, cell phones, jewelry, body rings, earrings, watches, and even glasses if they are deemed a security risk. If they are allowed to keep their shoes or sneakers, the laces are removed.

What happens after booking?

At this point the offender will be allowed to make a free phone call to a person of their choice to notify them of their arrest, and/or arrange a bond or bail for their release.

If the offender is being detained and housed while awaiting arraignment, the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff will provide a jail garment and slip-on shoes, a blanket, sheets, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, and a towel.

Often, before they are dressed in the jail outfit and brought to their housing location, they will be forced to take a shower and undergo a disinfectant treatment for body and hair lice, scabies or other pests that may be residing on their person.

How long does the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff Booking process take?

Booking can take anywhere from an hour to 24 hours or more. It all depends on the number of people that are awaiting processing, the number of staff on duty at the time, and the behavior of the offender.

If the offender is heavily intoxicated and/or violent, the Booking Officer may decide to stick the offender in a holding cell for several hours until they become more manageable.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Directions / Map to the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff
Inmate Bail and Bonding

What is Bail?

Bail is what the arrested in Hancock County must pay or do to stay out of jail until the first court appearance. 

The agreement to bail acts as a promise that the arrested will return to court for court dates and trial. Bail usually refers to a dollar amount, but bail can also mean something that has to be done, or a condition such as reporting to an officer of the court, a curfew, restraining orders or attending a treatment program. 

Bail is usually a significant enough amount of money and/or condition that the person will be negatively impacted and has incentive to return to court and not flee. A flight risk usually means that the person would flee the area, and not necessary that they are going to take an airplane. 

If a judge in Tennessee feels that the arrested will return to court for further proceedings, the arrested could be released under a conditional release without needing to pay bail money. This is called Released on Own Recognizance, or ROR.  

Conditions for ROR might be to obey all court orders and laws, maintain contact with the lawyer, report changes in residence or have no contact with the victim. Family support will show the court that there are people who will make sure that the defendant makes it to court. 

If the judge or bail schedule determines that the defendant would be a danger to the public if they were released, bail can be denied, and the person will be detained in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff until the case is resolved or goes to trial. 

Bail can be denied if the defendant did not comply with bail conditions from a previous arrest. Bail is usually denied in cases of violent offenses. 

What is the difference between Bail and Bond?

Bail and bond are used interchangeably to mean the same thing but technically, they are different. The bail is the amount to be paid and a bond is a signed document promising payment of the bail amount with certain conditions. Think of a bond as a loan to pay for the bail.  

The bond payment is always written to the court in your municipality, Hancock County or district directly and does not go through the defendant. Chances of obtaining a bond from a bond company or clerk of court are better if family is involved.  

The thought of being in jail can cause the arrested to panic and try to secure a bond immediately.  

DO NOT panic and take the time to understand all the options.  

More courts are now trying to work with defendants to make bail work and might provide non-monetary options or even reduce the bail.  

Payments to a bond company are not refundable. It is a long process to get back property title or money that was given to the clerk of court or bondsperson to secure the bond. This could put your loved ones into a difficult financial situation. 

Another reason not to unnecessarily rush into securing a bond is that if the court notes that you came up with the money to pay a bond company, they may assume you have resources to pay a defense attorney and decline public defense.  

On the other hand, as anyone who has ever been involved in their criminal defense understands, fighting your case while ‘out on the streets’ gives you a much better chance of either winning, or getting a more favorable sentence.  

What are the different types of bonds in Hancock County?

Based on a review of information from the arrest, the judge or bail officer will determine and notify the accused of which types of bonds are available to them.

To describe the types of bonds, let’s use an example of buying your neighbor’s car. Your neighbor decides the price of the car and how they would be paid.

Similarly, the court (meaning a police or bail officer, clerk of court, bail magistrate or judge) determines the bail amount and how it would be paid.

Here are different options that the seller of the car or the court might consider:

You could pay full asking price for the car in cash. This is similar to paying cash bail. The full amount of bail would be paid to the town or county clerk or at the jail. Cash, cashier’s checks and credit cards are usually accepted.

You could sign an agreement on your own or with another person to pay for the car at a future date knowing that your neighbor would know where to find you if you stopped payment. This would be similar to a cash bond or a personal recognizance (PR) bond which are bonds to where someone representing the defendant signs paperwork promising to pay the bail amount if the defendant does not show up to court. There is no money due up front. 

If the defendant does not show up, the full amount of the bail will be due to the court and the people who signed the paperwork will be responsible for paying the court and the court will send the sheriff’s department to arrest you. 

Cash bonds and PR bonds are types of unsecured bonds because you are not securing it with any money down. In bond terms, a surety is a person who will be responsible for making sure that you will show to court and will be responsible to pay the bond if the arrested person does not show up.

Surety can be family, friend or a bondsperson. Your attorney cannot act as a surety.

You can put a deposit down for your neighbor’s car and sign an agreement that the car will be paid off at a later date. Cash percentage in lieu of bonds is when the defendant pays a percentage of the bail amount, usually 10%, to the court which then holds the money until the case is over. 

The amount is returned to the person who paid the 10% after the case is over. In most cases, the full amount is not returned if there are court fees or fines due. This is a type of surety bond if another person signs the bond paperwork.

You could sign an agreement that if the car were not paid off, that your neighbor would get your house or something of value. 

A property bond is a bond that the courts might consider in which the bond is pledged in land or home real estate (mobile homes are not accepted).  

Usually, the property must be in the same state as the courts, and it must be worth at least 1 ½ - 2 times the amount of the bond.  

There are multiple court fees involved to execute a property bond with the courts and a tedious process to get the property deed back. This is another type of surety bond if another person or a bond company is used to secure the bond. 

You could also go to a local bank and take out a car loan offering property or anything of value for collateral. You may get someone to co-sign on the loan and offer their property. The bank charges fees, interest and could keep your property if you did not pay the loan back, or even on time.  

A professional bondsperson makes money, at least 10% of the bond amount by providing you with a “loan” called a bond. The percent that they charge is fixed by the state and cannot be negotiated. The defendant or surety does not get that 10% or more back even if the terms of the bail are met. 

With a property bond, the property deed would need to be signed over to the bondsperson and everyone on the deed would need to be involved. 

A Transfer Bond is transferable across state lines but generally a bond company will only assume the loan to adjoining states. In addition to the 10% fee, there is a transfer fee owed to the bonding company between $50-$100.

Since the bondsperson signed off, to be responsible that you show to court as your surety, they can send a bounty hunter to bring you to court if you flee. A bondsperson does not have to give you a bond if the defendant seems to be too much of a risk.

Ask the bondsperson to explain all the costs: percentage, fees or court fees. There is never a reason to rush through signing the paperwork with a bond company. Make sure that everything told to you is in writing and that you understand what you are signing. Ask questions, and if you feel rushed or don’t understand the contract with the bond company, you might want to call another one.

(There have been phone scams where a bond company calls and informs a person that their family member has been arrested and they ask for financial information.  A bondsperson will not call asking for money without involvement of the arrested.)

Does Hancock County have bail?

Yes,  Hancock County recognizes most types of bonds.

What kind of bonds are accepted in Hancock County? 

Hancock County recognizes most types of bonds. The court will consider what type of bonds will be accepted depending on the circumstances of the arrest.

Who can set bail in Hancock County?

Bail is set by a magistrate or judge.

When is bail set in Tennessee?

Bail is set during the defendant’s first court hearing, also known as a bail hearing. This court appearance will be scheduled within 72 hrs. of arrest not counting weekends or holidays.

Can I get the bail or bond reduced in Hancock County Tennessee? 

Yes, your attorney can request a bond reduction.

In Hancock County Tennessee, who can pay bail for me?

The person posting bail should be a relative or close friend, called a surety, because they are promising and taking responsibility that you will return to court to get their money back. 

A surety is not responsible for court fees or paying off personal debts for the defendant. A professional bondsperson who is approved by the State of Tennessee could be the surety and execute a bond to the court on your behalf.

Can bail be paid online in Hancock County Tennessee?

Yes, Tennessee does offer online bail payment. Please contact the jail for specific information on how to pay bail. Go to the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff for more information about the jails in Hancock County.

What options are there to pay bail in Hancock County Tennessee?

Most all jail and courts accept cash, a cashier or bankers’ check. Some accept a credit card with fees. Please contact the jail for specific information on what methods of payment are accepted. Go to the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff for more information about posting bail in Hancock County.  

Will I get all my bond money back in Tennessee? 

Bail money is returned to the person who paid the bail; in whole or in part once the case is finished. There may be fees, restitution (money to pay for damage caused by the crime) or fines that come out of that amount. If you used a bondsperson, you would not get your 10% back. Property is returned by the court or bondsperson after the appropriate requests and formal paperwork are completed with the court.

Can I get bail or a bond with no money down in Hancock County?

No, unless released on own recognizance you will be required to pay some money down to secure bail. 

A cash bond or a personal recognizance (PR) bond are bonds where someone representing the defendant signs paperwork promising to pay the bail amount if the defendant does not show up to court. There is no money due up front. 

If the defendant does not show up, the full amount of the bail will be due to the court and the people who signed the paperwork will be responsible for paying the court and the court will send the sheriff’s department to arrest you.

What are the least expensive and affordable bail bonds in Tennessee?

The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff or court in this jurisdiction can provide you with a list of approved and licensed bond companies, but they cannot recommend a specific company. You are not obligated to use the first company available and can call several companies to compare what kind of bonds that the bondsperson is willing to execute.

The percentage of bail that the bond company can charge is set, usually at 10%, by the state and cannot be negotiated.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Visitation

How Do You Visit an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff? What is the Schedule?

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff ON-SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE

265 New Jail Street
Sneedville, TN 37869
423-733-2249

  • Visits are 30 minutes.
  • You must be on the inmate's visitor list.
  • The actual visitation times may depend on the inmate and their housing location. Call 423-733-2249 and get your inmate's times and make an appointment to visit.
  • Inmates are allowed one visit per week.
  • A maximum of 2 guests are allowed per inmate.
  • Visitors must have a government issued photo ID.
  • Dress professionally with non-revealing clothing.

ON SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE - ALWAYS CALL 423-733-2249 TO CONFIRM VISITATION SCHEDULE!

DAY TIMES
SUNDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
MONDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
TUESDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
WEDNESDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
THURSDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
FRIDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
SATURDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM

The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff uses Homewav for all Video Visitation services.

The information below provides complete instructions regarding:

Visiting Hours and Visitation Schedule,
Visitation Rules,
Application & Registration
Inmate Video Visits, and
Jail Visitation Process for the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff uses HomeWAV for Inmate Video Visitation. 

Off-site remote visits are simple and convenient for both inmates and you. 
Outgoing calls can be initiated from the detention facility without the need for advanced scheduling.
HomeWAV is compatible with both Apple iOS and Android.
HomeWAV is compatible with most major browsers on either PC or Mac computers, but works best with Google Chrome.

 

Following these instructions exactly will enhance your chances of having trouble-free visits.

How Much does Homewav Cost?

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff charges $0.50 cents per minute for video visitation and $1.00 for each video message.  

There is NO minimum talk time. Each ‘call’ can be as short as one minute.

In addition, there is a $1.00 fee for any purchase. All “Talk to me Funds” can only be used between the inmate and the visitor who owns the account.

How does HomeWAV video visitation work?

1.  Sign Up Here.
2. Complete both steps of the registration process
3. Add ‘Talk to me Funds’ to your account using your credit or debit card.
4. Then you just wait for the inmate to call

How Do I add Funds to my account?

1. Once you are logged in, click “Add Talk to Me Funds
2. Type in the amount of dollars you want to add to your account.
3. Click “Update” 
4. Choose a way to pay (Credit, debit, or prepaid card.)

Can I use HomeWAV on my smartphone or tablet?

Yes, however your HomeWAV account must be first set up online from a computer. 

Once you have added funds to your account, you will need to install the Homewav app onto your phone or tablet.

To receive calls you must log in through the app and wait for the inmate to initiate the call. 

You cannot add funds or make any changes to your account information through the app. These options are only available through the website. 

The app should be solely used for video visitation.

What are the minimum PC requirements?

1. A computer with Windows Operating System. (Note: HomeWAV works best with Chrome.)
2. Speakers or Headphones
3. Camera and microphone

Can I use HomeWAV from the jail lobby if I don’t have a computer?

Yes, Hancock County Jail & Sheriff has a HomeWAV kiosk in their lobby for you to use if you don’t have a computer or smartphone, however due to COVID issues you may be temporarily prohibited entrance into their lobby. 

How does the Inmate Know I am Logged in and Ready to Visit?

1.    Make sure there are funds in your account and that you are marked as “appear online”.
2.    The moment you log in, the HomeWAV screen at the facility will light up green and display the inmates name. This informs the inmate that they have a visitor that is now logged on. 
3.    Once the inmate sees the notification, he or she will initiate the call.
4.    When the inmate initiates the call, a ringing sound will take place and a pop-up box will appear, asking you if you want to accept the call.

Can I transfer funds from one inmate to another?

If you have multiple inmates and would like to transfer your funds to a different inmate, please call HomeWAV at 314-764-2872 or email [email protected] and include the following information:
1.    Homewav account holder’s name.
2.    The number of minutes to be transferred.
3.    Facility Name.
4.    From which inmate to who do you want to transfer funds.

How do I get a refund on leftover funds?

Email HomeWAV at [email protected] with your refund request. 
REFUNDS are subject to a $7.50 processing fee.  *Note* refund requests must be sent from the email address of the registered visitor.

How can I contact HomeWAV if I’m having any problems?

HomeWAV Visitor Support is available 7 days a week during the following hours:

Monday – Friday 
9:00AM to 6:00PM EST

Saturday – Sunday 
8:00AM to 6:00PM EST

HomeWAV Customer Service: Call 314-764-2872, or toll free 844-394-6639.

HomeWAV Video Tutorials

HomeWAV Frequently Asked Questions

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Inmate Visitation Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Remote Video Visitation

Can I Use My Computer or Phone to Have a Remote Video Visit with an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff?

The information below provides complete instructions regarding Homewav Video Visitation for Hancock County Jail & Sheriff:

Visiting Hours and Visitation Schedule,
Visitation Rules,
Application & Registration
Inmate Video Visits, and
Jail Visitation Process for the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff uses HomeWAV for Inmate Video Visitation. 

Off-site remote visits are simple and convenient for both inmates and you. 
Outgoing calls can be initiated from the detention facility without the need for advanced scheduling.
HomeWAV is compatible with both Apple iOS and Android.
HomeWAV is compatible with most major browsers on either PC or Mac computers, but works best with Google Chrome.

 

Following these instructions exactly will enhance your chances of having trouble-free visits.

How Much does Homewav Cost?

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff charges $0.50 cents per minute for video visitation and $1.00 for each video message.  

There is NO minimum talk time. Each ‘call’ can be as short as one minute.

In addition, there is a $1.00 fee for any purchase. All “Talk to me Funds” can only be used between the inmate and the visitor who owns the account.

How does HomeWAV video visitation work?

1.  Sign Up Here.
2. Complete both steps of the registration process
3. Add ‘Talk to me Funds’ to your account using your credit or debit card.
4. Then you just wait for the inmate to call

How Do I add Funds to my account?

1. Once you are logged in, click “Add Talk to Me Funds
2. Type in the amount of dollars you want to add to your account.
3. Click “Update” 
4. Choose a way to pay (Credit, debit, or prepaid card.)

Can I use HomeWAV on my smartphone or tablet?

Yes, however your HomeWAV account must be first set up online from a computer. 

Once you have added funds to your account, you will need to install the Homewav app onto your phone or tablet.

To receive calls you must log in through the app and wait for the inmate to initiate the call. 

You cannot add funds or make any changes to your account information through the app. These options are only available through the website. 

The app should be solely used for video visitation.

What are the minimum PC requirements?

1. A computer with Windows Operating System. (Note: HomeWAV works best with Chrome.)
2. Speakers or Headphones
3. Camera and microphone

Can I use HomeWAV from the jail lobby if I don’t have a computer?

Yes, Hancock County Jail & Sheriff has a HomeWAV kiosk in their lobby for you to use if you don’t have a computer or smartphone, however due to COVID issues you may be temporarily prohibited entrance into their lobby. 

How does the Inmate Know I am Logged in and Ready to Visit?

1.    Make sure there are funds in your account and that you are marked as “appear online”.
2.    The moment you log in, the HomeWAV screen at the facility will light up green and display the inmates name. This informs the inmate that they have a visitor that is now logged on. 
3.    Once the inmate sees the notification, he or she will initiate the call.
4.    When the inmate initiates the call, a ringing sound will take place and a pop-up box will appear, asking you if you want to accept the call.

Can I transfer funds from one inmate to another?

If you have multiple inmates and would like to transfer your funds to a different inmate, please call HomeWAV at 314-764-2872 or email [email protected] and include the following information:
1.    Homewav account holder’s name.
2.    The number of minutes to be transferred.
3.    Facility Name.
4.    From which inmate to who do you want to transfer funds.

How do I get a refund on leftover funds?

Email HomeWAV at [email protected] with your refund request. 
REFUNDS are subject to a $7.50 processing fee.  *Note* refund requests must be sent from the email address of the registered visitor.

How can I contact HomeWAV if I’m having any problems?

HomeWAV Visitor Support is available 7 days a week during the following hours:

Monday – Friday 
9:00AM to 6:00PM EST

Saturday – Sunday 
8:00AM to 6:00PM EST

HomeWAV Customer Service: Call 314-764-2872, or toll free 844-394-6639.

HomeWAV Video Tutorials

HomeWAV Frequently Asked Questions

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Video Remote Visitation Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Money Accounts

How Do You Deposit Money for an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff?

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Inmate Money and Trust Fund Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Phone Contact

How Do I Receive Phone Calls from an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff?

How Do Inmates in Hancock County Jail & Sheriff Make Phone Calls?

To receive phone calls from inmates in Hancock County, or to assist them in making phone calls to other people, follow these steps:

  • Hancock County Jail & Sheriff uses the services of HOMEWAV.
  • Register with them online or call them at 844-394-6639
  • Agents are available from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, and speak both English & Spanish.
  • Services for Hancock County inmates and their families and friends include Collect Calling, PIN Debits or Purchasing Calling Cards.

For all the information regarding phone calls with Hancock County inmates; rules, policies, phone calling times, video, messaging, time limits and more, visit our Inmate Phone Page.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Inmate Phone Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Mailing an Inmate

How do I Mail an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff, and what can I send them?

Postcards
The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff allows inmates to receive pre-metered postcards like the type purchased from the post office. They may also allow certain photo postcards as long as they have not been tampered with or contain images that may be considered to be obscene or violent in nature.
Envelopes
The Hancock County Jail & Sheriff may also allow regular postcards and envelopes to be mailed to inmates as well, however more and more jails are no longer allowing envelopes or paper letters due to concern about paper being dipped into liquefied drugs like methamphetamines and cocaine and then mailed into secure facilities.
To confirm that the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff still allows letters in envelopes call 423-733-2249 or view the Inmate Mail Instructions.
Newspapers
Local or national newspapers may also be mailed to the inmate as long as they are mailed directly from the newspaper publisher.
Magazines
News, special interest or sports magazines may also be mailed to an inmate as long as they are shipped directly from the publisher. Any magazines that contain profanity, weapons, pornography or other content that is adult in nature will be confiscated by the jail staff and will NOT be delivered to the inmate.
Books
Most jails allow books to be mailed directly to the jail from a reputable source such as AmazonBarnes & Noble or Books-A-Million. You can order them directly from your computer and have them shipped to the inmate at the address above.
Books must NOT contain images or content that are considered excessively violent, pornographic or obscene. Any book that does not meet the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff standards will be disposed of.
Hard cover books will not be accepted by the jail due to their potential to be used as a weapon.
To confirm that the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff continues to allow books to be mailed by a third party publisher or bookseller, call 423-733-2249.
Care packages
Care packages are pre-chosen items packaged together and sent to the inmate from a third-party vendor. They can include clothing, snacks and seasonal items.
When a jail allows the inmate to receive Care Packages they must come directly from an approved company that specializes in serving the inmates of jails.
Call 423-733-2249 to see if the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff participates in a Care Package program and if so, how to purchase one.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Inmate Mail Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Commissary

Can I purchase Commissary Online for an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff, and what can I purchase?

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Commissary Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Texting and Emailing an Inmate

How Can I Communicate with an Inmate in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff using an Online Messaging Service?

Friends and Family can leave Video Messages for Inmates using HomeWAV Video services.

The cost is $1.00 per message. In addition, there is a $1.00 fee for any purchase. 
How does HomeWAV video messaging (email) work?

1. Sign Up.
2. Complete both steps of the registration process
3. Add ‘Talk to me Funds’ to your account using your credit or debit card.
4. Send your video message.

How to Visit or Email an Inmate in Hancock County Tennessee or visiting an inmate at the jail

To visit or email an inmate in Hancock County follow these steps:

  • In addition to visiting inmates at the jail, Hancock County Jail & Sheriff uses a video visitation service called HomeWav.
  • Register and Sign Up Here.
  • Complete all steps of the registration process to get full access to Hancock County Jail & Sheriff inmate communication services.
  • Add ‘Talk to me Funds’ to your account using your credit or debit card.
  • Then you just wait for your Hancock County inmate to communicate.
    How do you add Funds to your account?
  • Once you are logged in, click “Add Talk to Me Funds".
  • Type in the amount of dollars you want to add to your account.
  • Click “Update”.
  • Choose a way to pay (Credit, debit, or prepaid card).

Who do you contact if you are having any problems arranging the remote video visit, phoning or emailing of an inmate in Hancock County?
Call HomeWav support at 314-764-2872, or toll free 844-394-6639.
Monday – Friday 
9:00AM to 6:00PM EST
Saturday – Sunday 
8:00AM to 6:00PM EST

NOTE: All communications between you and your inmate at Hancock County Jail & Sheriff will be recorded and stored. Do not discuss your inmate's case or other sensitive information as it can be used against them (or you) in court.

For full instructions on all the benefits of using Homewav to visit a Hancock County inmate, visiting an inmate at the jail itself, email and texting an inmate, rates, policies, rules, dress codes, bringing children, attorney and clergy visits and more, go to our official Visit Inmate Page. 

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Text and Email Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Tablets

Do Inmates in the Hancock County Jail & Sheriff have Access to Tablets or Computers?

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff now offers Homewav ComPAS™ (Portable Access System) tablets to their inmates.


 
Homewav is the same company that handles the inmate phone system, video visitations, email and texting and digital letters.

The tablets can be rented on a monthly basis and while not directly connected to the internet, the inmates can use them for the following activities:

  • Phone Calls - Inmates may make calls directly from their tablet allowing for more privacy. The rates are the same as the phones in the unit, and the calls are still recorded and monitored.
  • eMessaging - Communicate via a text based message or picture. Fee based system.
  • Video Messages and Video Calls - Send and receive video messages and have video visits and calls with inmate.
  • Job Search - Inmates have the ability to see what jobs are available when they are released.
  • Education - Free educational platform and course catalog that provides thousands of educational resources, including GED courses.
  • Self Help -Inmates have daily access to mental health and addiction recovery programming.
  • Music - Top-40, Hip-Hop, Country, Rock, Gospel, and more.
  • Law Library -  Legal research with up-to-date case information.
  • eBooks - Thousands of available titles.
  • Religion - Religious resources for spiritual guidance.
  • Games - Inmates can play their favorite games. Available through monthly subscriptions
  • Facility Services - Digital access to submitted forms, requests, facility documents, and notifications from staff.

Here's how it works:

  • Register here
  • You get charged a full month even if it's only used for a partial month.
  • No activation or early termination fees.
  • Your inmate will recieve their tablet in 3-5 business days after you pay.

Questions:

Hancock County Jail & Sheriff now offers Homewav ComPAS™ (Portable Access System) tablets to their inmates.


 
Homewav is the same company that handles the inmate phone system, video visitations, email and texting and digital letters.

The tablets can be rented on a monthly basis and while not directly connected to the internet, the inmates can use them for phone, visits, messages, education, self-help and entertainment.

Questions:

To learn more about Homewav tablets, the dozens of features, cost and how to get one delivered to your inmate, check out our Inmate Tablet page.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Hancock County Jail & Sheriff’s Tablet Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 423-733-2249 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Other Jails Nearby

What are the other Jails in the Neighboring Counties surrounding Hancock County?

Hancock Claiborne Grainger Hawkins Scott Lee
⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less

Search for an Inmate in Hancock County

This facility, known as "Hancock County Jail & Sheriff" is also known as Hancock County Jail & Sheriff , Hancock County Jail & Sheriff , Tennessee, Hancock.