Wilson County Jail

Search for an Inmate in Wilson County

Wilson County Jail Information

The Wilson County Jail is a 57 bed jail in the city of Fredonia, Wilson County, Kansas. You can call them 24 hours a day for inmate information at 620-378-3622.

Offenders arrested for misdemeanors and felonies in this county are brought here for booking and processing, and if their crime requires it, are incarcerated until they either get bail or are released from custody on their own recognizance.

Those who are found guilty and sentenced to a term of less than one year, will do their time in this county. Those sentenced to longer terms will be sent to either the Kansas State Prison System or the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

This page provides information on how to search for an inmate in the official jail roster, or by calling the facility at 620-378-3622, directions to the facility, and inmate services such as the visitation schedule and policies, funding an inmate's account, mailing them a letter, receiving phone calls from an inmate, voicemail, emailing and texting, tablet rentals, bail bond instructions, and commissary purchases.

It's always a good idea to find out and save the inmate's jail ID number or booking number as you may need this for sending mail or other communication needs. If you can't locate it online, you can call the Wilson County Jail at 620-378-3622 to get it.

Phone: 620-378-3622

Physical Address:
925 Pierce
Fredonia, KS 66736

Mailing Address (personal mail):
Inmate's first and last name
Wilson County Jail
925 Pierce
Fredonia, KS 66736

Other Jails and Prisons

How Do You Find Someone in the Wilson County Jail?

To search for an inmate in the Wilson County Jail, review their criminal charges, the amount of their bond, when they can get visits, or even view their mugshot, go to the Official Jail Inmate Roster, or call the jail at 620-378-3622 for the information you are looking for. You can also look up Wilson County Criminal Court Cases online, as well as for every county in Kansas.

Wilson County Jail Inmate Search

The Wilson County Jail maintains an average of 57 offenders in custody on any given day. The Wilson County Jail has a monthly turnover of 40% of their inmate population, another 30% turnover every 90 days, another 20% every six months, and approximately 10% stay incarcerated between six and twelve months. Every year Wilson County law enforcement agencies arrest and detain approximately 1,140 offenders.

The following charts of Wilson County inmate population demographics are updated daily. The information shown is for today. For research purposes we have broken down the inmates by sex, age, ethnicity, and criminal charges.

The information is compiled from the Wilson County Corrections Department, the state of Kansas Department of Corrections, as well as the United States Department of Justice and Census Bureau records. It represents every person in custody in Wilson County.

For complete information on how to get directions, bond, visit, mail, send and receive email and texts, receive phone calls, and send money or commissary to an inmate, find arrest information for Wilson County and other counties surrounding this one, scroll down this page. We have a section for each.

We also provide photos of the jail that we have collected over the years.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
About the Wilson County Jail
The Wilson County Jail in Kansas has a capacity of 121 inmates. Other sources provide different numbers, such as 133 beds or 128 inmates, but all indicate that the jail has a capacity of around 100-130 inmates. One source mentions that the jail was built in 1961 with a capacity for 67 inmates, but it is unclear if this information is current. The Wilson County Jail in Kansas is located at 925 Pierce Street, Fredonia, KS 66736. The phone number for the jail is 620-378-3622, and the fax number is 620-378-4510. Inmate Sales provides phone services for the jail, and they can be reached at 877-998-5678. The Wilson County Jail in Kansas has visiting hours from Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. The visits are non-contact and conducted through a glass partition. However, according to other sources, the visiting hours are from Monday to Saturday, 7:30am to 9pm, and Sunday from 7:30am to 2:30pm. It is recommended to call the jail or visit their official website to confirm the visitation hours and rules. There is limited information available on the specific inmate issues and conditions at Wilson County Jail in Kansas. However, there are resources available to locate inmates and contact the jail. Additionally, there have been reports of poor medical care in Kansas prisons, including those in Wilson County. The Wilson County Jail is state-certified and staffed with correction officers, medical personnel, and dietary planners. Arrest records, inmate records, and warrants related to the Wilson County Sheriff's Office and Jail can be found through county office websites. The Wilson County Jail in Kansas is unique because it is housed in a cylindrical limestone building with a conical top that was originally built as a water tower. The jail is located in Fredonia, Kansas and is a secure facility that houses inmates. The jail has an average daily population of 57 inmates and a staff of 14. The Wilson County Sheriff's Office manages the jail and promotes public safety in Wilson County through public policing and the management of county jails and inmates. The jail also has a commissary where inmates can purchase extras using money put in their accounts.
⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Recent Bookings & Arrests

How do I find out if someone has been arrested and booked into the Wilson County Jail?

To find out if someone you know has been recently arrested and booked into the Wilson County Jail, call the jail’s booking line at 620-378-3622.

There may be an automated method of looking them up by their name over the phone, or you may be directed to speak to someone at the jail. Sometimes the jail staff may ask you the offender’s date of birth to ensure privacy of the offender’s status.

Keep in mind that after an arrest, the information on an offender may not be publicly available for several hours.

If you don’t want to check up on an offender by calling the jail, you can also try looking up people recently booked online.

Wilson County Jail Booking Roster

What happens during booking in Wilson County?

After being arrested and taken into custody, and after being read their Miranda Rights, an offender will next be transported to the local police or department or the Sheriff’s Department in Wilson County for booking.

Booking is very involved and requires multiple steps in the process, however, keep in mind that most attorneys will advise that an offender remain silent and not offer any additional information about the crime they have been arrested for because anything they do say may be recorded and may very well be used against them in court.

What is the booking process like at the Wilson County Jail?

Booking includes having their photo (mugshot) and fingerprints taken, as well as being asked a lot of questions about their personal history and state of mind. If it’s a serious felony, their DNA may also be taken. They will also be checked for warrants in Wilson County and other Kansas and USA jurisdictions.

If the offender was arrested for a DUI offense, and has refused a breathalyzer test, they may also be forced to have blood drawn by a doctor or nurse.

It is also very likely that the offender will undergo a humiliating full body search while in the nude. This includes bending over, spreading their cheeks in the direction of an officer, and coughing. They will also be walked through a metal detector or x-ray machine, like those used at an airport.

What kind of questions are asked during booking?

The arresting jurisdiction will ask about gang affiliations, tattoos, medical conditions, prescribed medication they are taking, recreational drugs they are on or addicted to, allergies, if they are suicidal, and other relevant information that will help with determining their cell assignment and special needs.

What happens to an offender’s personal property during booking?

During the arrest and booking process an offender will also have all their personal property confiscated and held for either their release from jail, or with the offender’s approval, released to a friend or family member.

Personal property includes the clothing they are wearing, money, wallets, purses, cell phones, jewelry, body rings, earrings, watches, and even glasses if they are deemed a security risk. If they are allowed to keep their shoes or sneakers, the laces are removed.

What happens after booking?

At this point the offender will be allowed to make a free phone call to a person of their choice to notify them of their arrest, and/or arrange a bond or bail for their release.

If the offender is being detained and housed while awaiting arraignment, the Wilson County Jail will provide a jail garment and slip-on shoes, a blanket, sheets, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, and a towel.

Often, before they are dressed in the jail outfit and brought to their housing location, they will be forced to take a shower and undergo a disinfectant treatment for body and hair lice, scabies or other pests that may be residing on their person.

How long does the Wilson County Jail Booking process take?

Booking can take anywhere from an hour to 24 hours or more. It all depends on the number of people that are awaiting processing, the number of staff on duty at the time, and the behavior of the offender.

If the offender is heavily intoxicated and/or violent, the Booking Officer may decide to stick the offender in a holding cell for several hours until they become more manageable.

⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Directions / Map to the Wilson County Jail
Inmate Bail and Bonding

What is Bail?

Bail is what the arrested in Wilson County must pay or do to stay out of jail until the first court appearance. 

The agreement to bail acts as a promise that the arrested will return to court for court dates and trial. Bail usually refers to a dollar amount, but bail can also mean something that has to be done, or a condition such as reporting to an officer of the court, a curfew, restraining orders or attending a treatment program. 

Bail is usually a significant enough amount of money and/or condition that the person will be negatively impacted and has incentive to return to court and not flee. A flight risk usually means that the person would flee the area, and not necessary that they are going to take an airplane. 

If a judge in Wilson County feels that the arrested will return to court for further proceedings, the arrested could be released under a conditional release without needing to pay bail money. This is called Released on Own Recognizance, or ROR.  

Conditions for ROR might be to obey all court orders and laws, maintain contact with the lawyer, report changes in residence or have no contact with the victim. Family support will show the court that there are people who will make sure that the defendant makes it to court. 

If the judge or bail schedule determines that the defendant would be a danger to the public if they were released, bail can be denied, and the person will be detained in the Wilson County Jail until the case is resolved or goes to trial. 

Bail can be denied if the defendant did not comply with bail conditions from a previous arrest. Bail is usually denied in cases of violent offenses. 

What is the difference between Bail and Bond?

Bail and bond are used interchangeably to mean the same thing but technically, they are different.

The bail is the amount to be paid and a bond is a signed document promising payment of the bail amount with certain conditions.

Think of a bond as a loan to pay for the bail.  

The bond payment is always written to the court in your municipality, Wilson County or district directly and does not go through the defendant. Chances of obtaining a bond from a bond company or clerk of court are better if family is involved.  

The thought of being in jail can cause the arrested to panic and try to secure a bond immediately.

DO NOT panic and take the time to understand all the options.  

More courts are now trying to work with defendants to make bail work and might provide non-monetary options or even reduce the bail.  

Payments to a bond company are not refundable. It is a long process to get back property title or money that was given to the clerk of court or bondsperson to secure the bond. This could put your loved ones into a difficult financial situation. 

Another reason not to unnecessarily rush into securing a bond is that if the court notes that you came up with the money to pay a bond company, they may assume you have resources to pay a defense attorney and decline public defense.  

On the other hand, as anyone who has ever been involved in their criminal defense understands, fighting your case while ‘out on the streets’ gives you a much better chance of either winning, or getting a more favorable sentence.  

What are the different types of bonds in Wilson County?

Based on a review of information from the arrest, the judge or bail officer will determine and notify the accused of which types of bonds are available to them.

To describe the types of bonds, let’s use an example of buying your neighbor’s car. Your neighbor decides the price of the car and how they would be paid.  

Similarly, the court (meaning a police or bail officer, clerk of court, bail magistrate or judge) determines the bail amount and how it would be paid.

Here are different options that the seller of the car or the court might consider:

You could pay full asking price for the car in cash. This is similar to paying cash bail. The full amount of bail would be paid to the town or county clerk or at the jail. Cash, cashier’s checks and credit cards are usually accepted.

You could sign an agreement on your own or with another person to pay for the car at a future date knowing that your neighbor would know where to find you if you stopped payment. This would be similar to a cash bond or a personal recognizance (PR) bond which are bonds to where someone representing the defendant signs paperwork promising to pay the bail amount if the defendant does not show up to court. There is no money due up front. 

If the defendant does not show up, the full amount of the bail will be due to the court and the people who signed the paperwork will be responsible for paying the court and the court will send the sheriff’s department to arrest you. 

Cash bonds and PR bonds are types of unsecured bonds because you are not securing it with any money down. In bond terms, a surety is a person who will be responsible for making sure that you will show to court and will be responsible to pay the bond if the arrested person does not show up.

Surety can be family, friend or a bondsperson. Your attorney cannot act as a surety.

You can put a deposit down for your neighbor’s car and sign an agreement that the car will be paid off at a later date. Cash percentage in lieu of bonds is when the defendant pays a percentage of the bail amount, usually 10%, to the court which then holds the money until the case is over. 

The amount is returned to the person who paid the 10% after the case is over. In most cases, the full amount is not returned if there are court fees or fines due. This is a type of surety bond if another person signs the bond paperwork.

You could sign an agreement that if the car were not paid off, that your neighbor would get your house or something of value.

A property bond is a bond that the courts might consider in which the bond is pledged in land or home real estate (mobile homes are not accepted).  

Usually, the property must be in the same state as the courts, and it must be worth at least 1 ½ - 2 times the amount of the bond. 

There are multiple court fees involved to execute a property bond with the courts and a tedious process to get the property deed back. This is another type of surety bond if another person or a bond company is used to secure the bond. 

You could also go to a local bank and take out a car loan offering property or anything of value for collateral. You may get someone to co-sign on the loan and offer their property. The bank charges fees, interest and could keep your property if you did not pay the loan back, or even on time.  

A professional bondsperson makes money, at least 10% of the bond amount by providing you with a “loan” called a bond. The percent that they charge is fixed by the state and cannot be negotiated. The defendant or surety does not get that 10% or more back even if the terms of the bail are met. 

With a property bond, the property deed would need to be signed over to the bondsperson and everyone on the deed would need to be involved. 

Since the bondsperson signed off, to be responsible that you show to court as your surety, they can send a bounty hunter to bring you to court if you flee. A bondsperson does not have to give you a bond if the defendant seems to be too much of a risk.

Ask the bondsperson to explain all the costs: percentage, fees or court fees. There is never a reason to rush through signing the paperwork with a bond company.  Make sure that everything told to you is in writing and that you understand what you are signing. Ask questions, and if you feel rushed or don’t understand the contract with the bond company, you might want to call another one.

(There have been phone scams where a bond company calls and informs a person that their family member has been arrested and they ask for financial information.  A bondsperson will not call asking for money without involvement of the arrested.)

Does Wilson County Kansas have bail?

Yes, Wilson County recognized most types of bonds.

What kind of bonds are accepted in Wilson County? 

Three types of bail are available: own recognizance, cash, or professional surety. A professional surety requires the services of an authorized bail bond agent. The court will determine which bond types will be approved.

Who can set bail in Wilson County?

Bail is set by a magistrate judge in the county where the defendant is being charged.

When is bail set in Kansas? Bail will be set by a judge at the defendant’s first court appearance, also known as arraignment. This will usually occur on the first court day following arrest, except for holidays or weekends.

Can I get the bail or bond reduced in Wilson County Kansas? 

Yes, the Bail Reform Act allows your attorney to request a bail reduction hearing if the initial bail is excessive or unreasonably high.

In Wilson County Kansas, who can pay bail for me?

The person posting bail should be a relative or close friend, called a surety, because they are promising and taking responsibility that you will return to court to get their money back. 

A surety is not responsible for court fees or paying off personal debts for the defendant. A professional bondsperson who is approved by the State of Kansas could be the surety and execute a bond to the court on your behalf.

Can bail be paid online in Wilson County Kansas?  

No, Kansas counties do not currently offer online payment for bail.

Contact the jail for specific information on how to pay bail. Go to the Wilson County Jail for more information about the jails in Wilson County.

What options are there to pay bail in Wilson County Kansas? 

Most all jail and courts accept cash, a cashier or bankers’ check. Some accept a credit card with fees. Please contact the jail for specific information on what methods of payment are accepted. Go to the Wilson County Jail for more information about the jails in Wilson County.

Will I get all my bond money back in Kansas? 

Bail money is returned to the person who paid the bail; in whole or in part once the case is finished. There may be fees, restitution (money to pay for damage caused by the crime) or fines that come out of that amount. If you used a bondsperson, you would not get your 10% back. Property is returned by the court or bondsperson after the appropriate requests and formal paperwork are completed with the court.

Can I get bail or a bond with no money down in Wilson County? 

The judge or officer who sets bail determines which kind of bail will be an option for you, but a cash bond and PR bonds usually do not require cash down, though you might have to pay court fees.

A cash bond or a personal recognizance (PR) bond are bonds where someone representing the defendant signs paperwork promising to pay the bail amount if the defendant does not show up to court. There is no money due up front. 

If the defendant does not show up, the full amount of the bail will be due to the court and the people who signed the paperwork will be responsible for paying the court and the court will send the sheriff’s department to arrest you. 

Cash bonds and PR bonds are types of unsecured bonds because you are not securing it with any money down. In bond terms, a surety is a person who will be responsible to make sure that you will show to court and will be responsible to pay the bond if the arrested person does not show up.  A surety can be family, friend or a bondsperson. Your attorney cannot act as a surety.

What are the least expensive and affordable bail bonds in Kansas?  

The Wilson County Jail or court in this jurisdiction can provide you with a list of approved and licensed bond companies, but they cannot recommend a specific company. You are not obligated to use the first company available and can call several companies to compare what kind of bonds that the bondsperson is willing to execute.  

The percentage of bail that the bond company can charge is set, usually at 10%, by the state and cannot be negotiated.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Visitation

How Do You Visit an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail? What is the Schedule?

Wilson County Jail ON-SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE

925 Pierce
Fredonia, KS 66736
620-378-3622

  • Visits are 30 minutes.
  • You must be on the inmate's visitor list.
  • The actual visitation times may depend on the inmate and their housing location. Call 620-378-3622 and get your inmate's times and make an appointment to visit.
  • Inmates are allowed one visit per week.
  • A maximum of 2 guests are allowed per inmate.
  • Visitors must have a government issued photo ID.
  • Dress professionally with non-revealing clothing.

ON SITE VISITATION SCHEDULE - ALWAYS CALL 620-378-3622 TO CONFIRM VISITATION SCHEDULE!

DAY TIMES
SUNDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
MONDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
TUESDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
WEDNESDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
THURSDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
FRIDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM
6:00PM - 8:00PM
SATURDAY 9:00AM - 11:00AM
2:00PM - 4:00PM

Wilson County Jail uses the services of Inmate Canteen for 'At the Jail' Visitation with Inmates.



For best results use Google Chrome as your browser for accessing Inmate Canteen.
Instructions on Inmate Video Visitation:

  • Register or Log in to your account
  • Select the facility where the inmate is located and the inmate you wish to visit.
  • Select the "Video Visit an Inmate" option
  • Follow the prompts on screen to schedule the visit.

    Video Visitation must be done from a computer using Google Chrome and an updated Adobe Flash player. Before starting this process you must make sure that your Adobe Flash player is fully updated and that you are using Google Chrome. First... Set up Flash, then restart your computer and then go to Google Chrome on your desktop or laptop computer and log on to Inmate Canteen.
    Steps Inmate canteen Visitation:
    1. Go to www.inmatecanteen.com on a computer (not supported on mobile devices i.e. tablets, cell phones, etc)
    2. Log in, select your inmate, and select the Video Visit an Inmate option.
    3. You will be required to fill out a form, submit a driver's license picture and a picture of your face. Once submitted, Wilson County Jail will either approve or deny it.
    4. Once approved you will be all set to video visit!
    NOTES: Make sure you are allowing flash player to run in google chrome by selecting the lock icon to left of the browser. Flash Player needs to be set to “allow”. Then you can refresh the page and it should be good to go. If flash player is being blocked you will not be able to take a picture or see any video during the visitation. When you click on the video visitation link on the website, please visit the Audition Room to test your equipment. To find the Audition Room, please click on 'Video Visit an Inmate' and it will be located on the top of your screen. Here you can test and verify that your webcam and microphone are working. We highly recommend a hard line for video visiting, unstable internet can result in poor visit qualities.

How to Have Remote Video Visits with an Inmate in Wilson County

To register and sign up for a remote visitation account with Inmate Canteen to communicate with your Wilson County Jail inmate, follow the instructions below:

  • Register and create an account with your Wilson County inmate using Inmate Canteen.
  • Inmate Canteen has excellent quality video visits between your home device and a video terminal in the inmate's housing area at Wilson County Jail.
  • You can also send and receive secure messages and use them to make and receive phone calls with your Wilson County inmate.
  • This is a fee based service.

Instructions for Inmate Video Visitation:
- Register or Log in to your account
- Select Wilson County Jail and the inmate you wish to visit.
- Select the "Video Visit an Inmate" option
- Follow the prompts on screen to schedule the visit.

For all the information you need to know, including instructions, policies, tips and solutions to possible issues regarding visiting with an inmate (both at the jail and remotely) in Wilson County, visit our full page guide

NOTE: All video visits are recorded and stored. Whatever you talk about, can and will be used against your inmate in court. Never discuss their pending criminal case!
Also, be warned that some video visits providers are collecting voice prints for a database which law enforcement agencies are building.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Inmate Visitation Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Remote Video Visitation

Can I Use My Computer or Phone to Have a Remote Video Visit with an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail?

Wilson County Jail uses the services of Inmate Canteen for Remote Video Visitation with Inmates.

For best results use Google Chrome as your browser for accessing Inmate Canteen.
Instructions on Inmate Video Visitation:

  • Register or Log in to your account
  • Select the facility where the inmate is located and the inmate you wish to visit.
  • Select the "Video Visit an Inmate" option
  • Follow the prompts on screen to schedule the visit.

    Video Visitation must be done from a computer using Google Chrome and an updated Adobe Flash player. Before starting this process you must make sure that your Adobe Flash player is fully updated and that you are using Google Chrome. First... Set up Flash, then restart your computer and then go to Google Chrome on your desktop or laptop computer and log on to Inmate Canteen.
    Steps Inmate canteen Visitation:
    1. Go to www.inmatecanteen.com on a computer (not supported on mobile devices i.e. tablets, cell phones, etc)
    2. Log in, select your inmate, and select the Video Visit an Inmate option.
    3. You will be required to fill out a form, submit a driver's license picture and a picture of your face. Once submitted, Wilson County Jail will either approve or deny it.
    4. Once approved you will be all set to video visit!
    NOTES: Make sure you are allowing flash player to run in google chrome by selecting the lock icon to left of the browser. Flash Player needs to be set to “allow”. Then you can refresh the page and it should be good to go. If flash player is being blocked you will not be able to take a picture or see any video during the visitation. When you click on the video visitation link on the website, please visit the Audition Room to test your equipment. To find the Audition Room, please click on 'Video Visit an Inmate' and it will be located on the top of your screen. Here you can test and verify that your webcam and microphone are working. We highly recommend a hard line for video visiting, unstable internet can result in poor visit qualities.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Video Remote Visitation Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Money Accounts

How Do You Deposit Money for an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail?

Instructions on purchasing commissary items for an inmate:
NOTE: Wilson County Jail may only allow online deposits for local commissary purchasing.

1. Register or Log in to your account at Inmate Canteen.
2. Select the facility where the inmate is located and the inmate you wish to purchase commissary items for.
3. Select the "Purchase Items" option.
4. Follow the prompts on screen to purchase items for an inmate.

How to Send a Carepack Commissary Package Directly to an Inmate in Wilson County

To send a commissary carepack (food, snacks and goods) directly to an inmate in Wilson County Jail follow these steps:

  • Register to create an account, or Log in to your account at Inmate Canteen if you already have one.
  • Select Kansas, then Wilson County Jail, and then the inmate you wish to purchase commissary items for.
  • Select the "Purchase Commissary Items" option.
  • Follow the prompts on screen to purchase items for an inmate.
  • Maximum spend is $125.00.
  • NOTE: Wilson County Jail may at times only allow online deposits for your inmate to purchase their own commissary locally. 

For all information, tips and to see the hundreds of available items for shipping Commissary packages to an inmate in Wilson County Jail, or to see how deposit money so that your inmate can purchase their own commissary, check out our Commissary Instructions Page for Wilson County.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Inmate Money and Trust Fund Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Phone Contact

How Do I Receive Phone Calls from an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail?

How Do Inmates in Wilson County Jail Make Phone Calls?

To receive phone calls from inmates in Wilson County, or to assist them in making phone calls to other people, follow these steps:

  • Wilson County Jail uses the services of a company named Inmate Sales.
  • Register with them online or call them at 877-998-5678
  • Agents are available M-F from 8:00 AM - 12:00 midnight EST, Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM, and speak both English & Spanish.
  • Services for Wilson County inmates and their families and friends include: Collect Calling, PIN Debit, Purchasing Calling Cards, Deposits, Messaging & Video Visitation.

iphone app
Google Play app

For all the information regarding phone calls with Wilson County inmates; rules, policies, phone calling times, limits and more visit our Inmate Phone Page.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Inmate Phone Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Mailing an Inmate

How do I Mail an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail, and what can I send them?

Postcards
The Wilson County Jail allows inmates to receive pre-metered postcards like the type purchased from the post office. They may also allow certain photo postcards as long as they have not been tampered with or contain images that may be considered to be obscene or violent in nature.
Envelopes
The Wilson County Jail may also allow regular postcards and envelopes to be mailed to inmates as well, however more and more jails are no longer allowing envelopes or paper letters due to concern about paper being dipped into liquefied drugs like methamphetamines and cocaine and then mailed into secure facilities.
To confirm that the Wilson County Jail still allows letters in envelopes call 620-378-3622 or view the Inmate Mail Instructions.
Newspapers
Local or national newspapers may also be mailed to the inmate as long as they are mailed directly from the newspaper publisher.
Magazines
News, special interest or sports magazines may also be mailed to an inmate as long as they are shipped directly from the publisher. Any magazines that contain profanity, weapons, pornography or other content that is adult in nature will be confiscated by the jail staff and will NOT be delivered to the inmate.
Books
Most jails allow books to be mailed directly to the jail from a reputable source such as AmazonBarnes & Noble or Books-A-Million. You can order them directly from your computer and have them shipped to the inmate at the address above.
Books must NOT contain images or content that are considered excessively violent, pornographic or obscene. Any book that does not meet the Wilson County Jail standards will be disposed of.
Hard cover books will not be accepted by the jail due to their potential to be used as a weapon.
To confirm that the Wilson County Jail continues to allow books to be mailed by a third party publisher or bookseller, call 620-378-3622.
Care packages
Care packages are pre-chosen items packaged together and sent to the inmate from a third-party vendor. They can include clothing, snacks and seasonal items.
When a jail allows the inmate to receive Care Packages they must come directly from an approved company that specializes in serving the inmates of jails.
Call 620-378-3622 to see if the Wilson County Jail participates in a Care Package program and if so, how to purchase one.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Inmate Mail Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Commissary

Can I purchase Commissary Online for an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail, and what can I purchase?

Wilson County Jail uses the services of Inmate Canteen for Online Commissary Purchases for an Inmate.

NOTE: Wilson County Jail may only allow online deposits for local commissary purchasing.

For best results use google chrome as your browser for accessing Inmate Canteen.
Instructions on purchasing commissary items for an inmate:

  • Register or Log in to your account
  • Select the facility where the inmate is located and the inmate you wish to purchase commissary items for.
  • Select the "Purchase Items" option
  • Follow the prompts on screen to purchase items for an inmate.

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Commissary Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Texting and Emailing an Inmate

How Can I Communicate with an Inmate in the Wilson County Jail using an Online Messaging Service?

Wilson County Jail uses the services of Inmate Sales to allow text messaging communication between inmates and their friends and family.


Chirping is the product name for inmate texting.  
This product allows inmates to send chirps (texts) to friends and family members.


Here's how it works:

  • First you must register, and then funds are added to the inmate's account. If you want to pay by phone, call 877-998-5678.
  • When an inmate gets the device they may send 5 free automated messages each day for the first three days of possession of the chirping device.  
  • These automated messages will inform the person the inmate Chirped who is sending the Chirps and the facility they are Chirping from.
  • It will then ask them to go to a direct link to the inmate's account on the Inmate Sales website.
  • The website will then instruct them to use a credit card to put money on the inmate's account.  

Cost of Chirping:  

  • Inmates will be charged a monthly service fee of $4.00.  Inbound and Outbound Chirps are $0.10 each.
  • If an inmate has available funds on their chirping device they will be able to chirp any cell phone and that chirp will appear to be a normal text. 
  • If you wish to stop receiving Chirps from an inmate, reply to the Chirp with STOP.

iphone app
Google Play app

How to Send a Secure Email Message to an Inmate in Wilson County

To send a secure email message to an inmate in Wilson County Jail follow these steps:

  • Register with Inmate Canteen to create an account or log in if you already have one.
  • Select Kansas, then select Wilson County Jail, and then the inmate you want to send your message to.
  • Add money to your account.
  • Verify your email.
  • Send message.
  • NOTE: All messages between you and your Wilson County inmate will be permanently recorded and seen by the staff and could be used against your inmate in court.

For all information on how to Text/Email an Inmate in Wilson County Jail, the costs, rules, policies and more check out our Secure Messaging Guide for Wilson County.


 

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Text and Email Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Inmate Tablets

Do Inmates in the Wilson County Jail have Access to Tablets or Computers?

We’ve compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for everything you need to know about Wilson County Jail’s Tablet Policies, Rules and Guidelines. If you still have questions after reviewing these FAQs, call 620-378-3622 for further assistance.

Learn even more ⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less
Other Jails Nearby

What are the other Jails in the Neighboring Counties surrounding Wilson County?

Wilson Elk Greenwood Montgomery Woodson Neosho Allen
⇓ Learn more ⇓ Show less

Search for an Inmate in Wilson County

This facility, known as "Wilson County Jail" is also known as Wilson County Jail , Wilson County Jail , Kansas, Wilson.